Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Jigs : Luthier's Friend Sanding Station

Luthier's Friend Sanding Station


Read 16 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Use your drill press for precise sanding! The Luthier's Friend™ turns your drill press into a simple and precise thickness sander and pattern sander.

See details below

Email a friend
Luthiers Friend Sanding Station
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5660 Sanding Station only Yes
$175.75

5659 Sanding Station with sliding vise Yes
$200.75

5661 Sliding vise only Yes
$25.00


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Robo-Sander



Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank



Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files



Unbleached Bone Nuts



Shop Apron



Robo-Sander
Flattop Guitar Bridge Blank
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Shop Apron



Details
 Pictures
It's the affordable way to thickness-sand wood up to 2-3/4" tall, and precisely create contoured shapes guided by your shop-made templates. Use it for freehand sanding and for precision work on veneers, bridge blanks, wood bindings, purflings, fingerboards, nuts and saddles.

Replacement abrasive sleeves sold separately.

The Sanding Station is solidly built and very stable. Clamp it to your drill press table, and connect your shop vacuum for dust-free operation. The included Robo-Sander turns on a bearing securely seated in the base of the unit, so it doesn't flex or wobble.

It's compact: simply hang it on the wall out of the way when you're not using it.

We highly recommend the optional Sliding Vise. It's just right for squaring-up small parts such as nuts and saddles. It's made to go with the Sanding Station - for easy indexing, one side of the jaws is 1/4" deep and the other is 1/2" deep. The long base permits a safe feed for thickness-sanding.

The Luthier's Friend Sanding Station includes:
Robo-Sander pattern-sanding drum (2" diameter x 3" tall) with 50-grit abrasive sleeve
Sturdy 10" x 12" x 3/4" table with micro-adjustable fence
Dust collector shroud (for your shop vacuum hose)
Extra 50, 80 and 120-grit abrasive sleeves
Instructions

Replacement abrasive sleeves sold separately.

Making a perfect bridge with the Sanding Station
Dan's shop-made jig creates perfectly-shaped acoustic bridges
Making a perfect bridge with the Sanding Station Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine's getting fancy with his Sanding Station: with his shop-made jig, he's making better bridges than he ever has before.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Luthiers Friend Sanding Station
Luthier's Friend Sanding Station
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 16 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 11-22-2013
AWSOME thickness sander

The Luthier's Friend has got to be the greatest addition to anyone's shop. I think it was designed for thicknessing nuts, saddles and binding, etc. I used it for thicknessing sides, top and back pieces for a tenor ukulele project. It worked great and was a good alternative to an expensive thickness sander. I highly recommend this product.

ROGER BARRETT  SAN MARTIN, CA. Read my reviews (9)
5 10-26-2013
Must have tool

Maks repair job much faster Save lots of time for us @ 4seasonspickups

4 seasons pickups  Netherlands Read my reviews (11)
4 1-04-2013
Nice addition

I have already used this handy device more than I had anticipated. I got the sliding vice as well. It makes the initial shaping of nuts and saddles a breeze. Recommended!

Rob McD  Cochrane, AB Read my reviews (2)
1 11-10-2012
Not so good for me with my current drill press

I thought this would be the answer to dust-free shaping of nuts and saddles and to custom-thicknessed veneers for rosettes, but I have not found it useful so far. It may be that my drill press is too sloppy to work well with it - I have been using without problem (except for a switch that needed replacing) since 1972. It drill holes well, but gives bumpy results with the sanding station. I am not quite up to spending a thousand or two more dollars to see if I can make my $200 sanding station work.

constructordeguitarras  Seattle Read my reviews (3)
5 9-18-2012
Essential for professional shops.

This tool has easily quartered the time I used to spend roughing-out nuts and saddles. Great time and money saver!

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
3 12-28-2011
Great idea - lacks accuracy

I've struggled with this tool off and on for months and finally hung it on the wall. Then I read the review about the sliding vise not being square with itself.Mine too is way, way off. Also don't assume that the fence is 90 degrees to the table. I use paper shims to square it up.

Bob Littrell-Cardona Custom Guitars  Springfield, Illinois Read my reviews (9)
5 9-03-2011
Thicknes sand within +/-.001

I used to sand thickness and flatness small parts by passing the piece over sandpaper stuck to a flat plate. I would sand, measure, adjust sand, measure, again and again (I did get pretty good at it). I used this little gem of a tool in my drill press to thickness-sand a maple bridge plate blank to .090 thick. I was amazed; a few passes and it was within 0.001", length and width. Perfect tool for any shop.

Norman Letendre  Newington, CT Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
4 7-31-2011
Sanding Station

So far I have used the Luthier's Friend Sanding Station for nuts and saddles and it makes sizing much easier and saves me lots of time. This is a must have for all Luthiers as time and precision means money and perfection.

Tony Gill  Australia Read my reviews (2)
3 4-23-2011
Good for small shop

This tool was just OK for me. It's really just a mini drum sander on it's side. If you have the space, a real drum sander does a much better job. If you don't, it's a good set up to have.

Jesse Stearn  SLC. Utah Read my reviews (4)
5 3-20-2011
Luthier's Friend ? -- Definitely !

I should have bought this sooner. I was undecided for several months trying to justify the cost verses the few times I might use it. A couple of StewMac gift certificates given to me as birthday presents finally made my mind up. Truth is I have found so many more ways to use this sanding station than I could ever have imagined. The quality of the tool was much higher than I anticipated from viewing the pictures. Great accuracy is easily achieved if you follow the instructions to ensure the fence is truly parallel to the sanding sleeve and don't try to sand too deeply at each pass. I have sanded mahogany, maple, rosewood and ebony all with excellent results. I have also tried it to thickness ivoroid and by using the finest grade sanding sleeve with a small depth of cut managed to get a very consistent thickness tolerance. This is now one of the most prized tools in my workshop.

JMW  Biggleswade, UK Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 24 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce