Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Jigs : Guitar Repair Vise

Guitar Repair Vise


Read 61 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The luthier's favorite vise is even easier to use, thanks to custom modifications: bearing-smooth operation, fast crank handwheel, and urethane/hardwood swivel jaws.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Repair Vise

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1813 Guitar Repair Vise Yes
$139.84


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set



Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts



Erlewine ShopStand



Erlewine Neck Jig



Dragon Hand-cut Rasp



ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set
Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
Erlewine ShopStand
Erlewine Neck Jig
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Custom modifications make it the best!
Don't mistake our vise for one of the many copycats! We've customized our Guitar Repair Vise to give it bearing-smooth operation that you won't find elsewhere. Turn the fast-crank handwheel and you'll immediately feel the difference.

Customized four ways:
1. Fast-crank handwheel with removable handle
2. Roller bearings for fast smooth opening/closing
3. Protective urethane surfaces on custom hardwood jaws
4. Nylon-core adjustable tension nuts control 360° jaw rotation

A good vise is the central hub of your workshop. Every repair or building job benefits from a solid, secure vise, and if it's actually a pleasure to use that's all the better!

Our Guitar Repair Vise is 32 pounds of steel that rotates full-circle to position the work for comfortable access. Each inch-thick hardwood jaw rotates too, with forgiving urethane surfaces to hold instruments of any shape/any size. This vise holds a the tapered angles of a neck securely without needing any shims. Nylon-core adjustment nuts set the tension on the rotating jaws, so you can let them spin loosely or hold their angle. The vise jaws open to a maximum of 6" (15.24cm).

We've built in a roller bearing so the vise opens and adjusts smoothly - and added a crank handle to make it speedy. (The handle's conveniently removable, too.)

The sturdy base can be installed under your workbench for 8" vise height, or on top for 9-3/4" height. The threaded mounting rod and large wingnut mount the vise quickly on any benchtop up to 4-1/2" thick.

Extra parts for the Guitar Repair Vise available.
Replacement parts for your vise and upgrading older vises.


SAVE when you order the Vise and ShopStand together!

ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set is the perfect combo to set up your vise to be a sturdy, 360-degree swiveling money saver!


New ways to use the Guitar Repair Vise
Dan Erlewine’s been teaching his vise to do tricks!
New ways to use the Guitar Repair Vise Read more

In this issue:
In this issue of Trade Secrets, Dan makes his Guitar Repair Vise sit up and roll over. Who knew cast iron could be so flexible?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 61 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  7 >
5 6-20-2011
Works Great

This is one of the most used tools in the shop. We use it for holding necks and bodies in different angles. It is simply a gun stock vice adapted to work with guitars. -Matt Dreher

Spider Web Music  Howland- Warren, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-30-2011
Best bang for my buck!!

I looked around at other vises and this price was by far the cheapest but only in price!! I can't believe I lived without this in my shop!!!

DAM Guitars  Canada
5 5-29-2011
That extra pair of hands you always wanted.

I've put off buying this because of the cost of shipping it to Australia but finally bit the bullet and got one. On receiving it I found it wasn't as smooth as the one in the demo video having to turn the round handle using my whole hand rather than turning the removable handle with just my fingers. I sent an email to the service dept asking for advice on how to make the action a bit smoother and they responded immediately saying that they will send another to me at no cost. Received the second in three days and it worked as smoothly as the one in Dan's video. Excellent tool and excellent service.

Gerry A.  Australia Read my reviews (4)
1 5-07-2011
Not at all like Dan's vice in the video

I reckon I got the one the first guy sent back - it fits the description exactly. The loose and sloppy action will not wind smoothly using the crank handle. One jaw does not swivel properly, even with the top nut slackened right off. I'd have returned it but live in UK.
Shipping already cost me over $90 so sending it back is not a proposition. It will hold a guitar but it's not easy to use - this is a poorly made vise. Other stuff from Stewmac has been great but right now, I'm NOT HAPPY!

Colin  Cumbria, UK Read my reviews (6)
StewMac responds

Colin,
We're so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with our repair vise. We value your detailed critique of the problems you've experienced. We do our best to provide a sound quality item, but in this case it seems we really let you down. We hope you will accept our sincere apology (and a replacement vice).

1 4-25-2011
Not as advertised.

First, a little about me. I was a mechanic for many years. My father has been a mechanic his entire life (60 years) and worked at dealerships and continued his training as technology advanced, and now owns a respected repair shop in town. Since I learned everything from him throughout years of "field work" I can say that I'm fully qualified to assess the quality of this vise.

I have used many good quality tools and this isn't one of them, even after a proper setup and lube. The manufacturing tolerances are too broad which makes this vise have loose action with a rickety, cheap feel. The bearing does nothing. I removed and reinstalled mine with no difference in feel. The vise is not smooth. By the way, I was unhappy with the first one, so they sent me a replacement that was of equally bad quality. So its not that I happen to get a dud. After about 8 hours of mixing and matching parts from the two vises I ended up with something I would call acceptable. Still not 100 percent smooth action though.

If you have good mechanical skills then you may be able to make an OK vise from one or two of these like I did. I think next time I'll just get a gunstock carving vise.

So, after receiving 2 of these within the last week, both of which were very disappointing, I would have to think that none of these vises are able to come close to the description given by stew mac. Its just too poor of quality.

Don't let this review discourage you from buying from stew mac. They offer a variety of good and super-handy tools. I own many of them and will buy more. Also, they have superb customer service. I just don't like the quality of this vise or how its advertised.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
StewMac responds

Jerhico Guitars,
We're so sorry you were disappointed with the quality of the Guitar Repair Vise. We're happy to offer you a full refund and provide a pre-paid merchandise return label for the return shipping.

It's comments like these that keep us sharp, so we appreciate and value your feedback.

4 4-24-2011
The Centerpiece of my shop

I use it for just about everything.
I would have given it a perfect score but the plates on the one I got are a bit warped when I spin the wheel it catches. It works, but I wish it spun freely.

Mickey Springer  Hollywood,CA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-09-2011
Favorite Shop Tool!

The Guitar Repair Vise is a very versatile tool in my shop! From holding guitars by the neck or body, to clamping a sanding station up off the workbench!
A way to raise and hold a small assembly table that you can easily clamp and work around! The list goes on.
The Guitar Repair Vise is well made and set up with enough extras to make it a valuable shop tool.
But the best part of this vise is, when mine had a problem (that I hadn't noticed when I first ordered it) StewMac was right there for me! They stood 100 percent behind their product and sent out a new replacement vise right away! They even included the return shipping label!
How great is that!
Perfect product! Perfect company!

Archtop  USA Read my reviews (9)
5 3-20-2011
Guitar Repair Vise

This vise is handy for lots of projects. I recently purchased this to use on a refret of a '72 Deluxe Tele neck, where the frets needed to be driven out sideways and I wanted something to hold the neck securely. The Guitar Repair Vise worked perfectly for this and other projects. The urethane jaws grip the guitar nicely with no marring of the finish. It also came in handy for leveling and crowning the frets as well. When I called Stew Mac to get some measurements so I could modify my workbench slightly, they were very helpful. Great products + excellent customer service = Winning combination.

Alan Morrison - AM Guitar Works  Davenport, IA Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-09-2011
Great for a lot of uses

I not only used the vise for working on handles, but use it for holding a whole guitar. I also plan to use it for other woodworking projects.

Rex Shurtleff  Pagosa Springs, CO Read my reviews (3)
5 2-13-2011
Great Vise

This vise is a must for any instrument repair, very smooth action and soft pads that wont damage.

metal6string  Navarre, Florida Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 20 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce