Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Jigs : Guitar Repair Vise

Guitar Repair Vise


Read 61 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The luthier's favorite vise is even easier to use, thanks to custom modifications: bearing-smooth operation, fast crank handwheel, and urethane/hardwood swivel jaws.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Repair Vise

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1813 Guitar Repair Vise Yes
$139.84


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set



Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts



Erlewine ShopStand



Erlewine Neck Jig



Dragon Hand-cut Rasp



ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set
Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
Erlewine ShopStand
Erlewine Neck Jig
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Custom modifications make it the best!
Don't mistake our vise for one of the many copycats! We've customized our Guitar Repair Vise to give it bearing-smooth operation that you won't find elsewhere. Turn the fast-crank handwheel and you'll immediately feel the difference.

Customized four ways:
1. Fast-crank handwheel with removable handle
2. Roller bearings for fast smooth opening/closing
3. Protective urethane surfaces on custom hardwood jaws
4. Nylon-core adjustable tension nuts control 360° jaw rotation

A good vise is the central hub of your workshop. Every repair or building job benefits from a solid, secure vise, and if it's actually a pleasure to use that's all the better!

Our Guitar Repair Vise is 32 pounds of steel that rotates full-circle to position the work for comfortable access. Each inch-thick hardwood jaw rotates too, with forgiving urethane surfaces to hold instruments of any shape/any size. This vise holds a the tapered angles of a neck securely without needing any shims. Nylon-core adjustment nuts set the tension on the rotating jaws, so you can let them spin loosely or hold their angle. The vise jaws open to a maximum of 6" (15.24cm).

We've built in a roller bearing so the vise opens and adjusts smoothly - and added a crank handle to make it speedy. (The handle's conveniently removable, too.)

The sturdy base can be installed under your workbench for 8" vise height, or on top for 9-3/4" height. The threaded mounting rod and large wingnut mount the vise quickly on any benchtop up to 4-1/2" thick.

Extra parts for the Guitar Repair Vise available.
Replacement parts for your vise and upgrading older vises.


SAVE when you order the Vise and ShopStand together!

ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set is the perfect combo to set up your vise to be a sturdy, 360-degree swiveling money saver!


New ways to use the Guitar Repair Vise
Dan Erlewine’s been teaching his vise to do tricks!
New ways to use the Guitar Repair Vise Read more

In this issue:
In this issue of Trade Secrets, Dan makes his Guitar Repair Vise sit up and roll over. Who knew cast iron could be so flexible?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 61 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  7 >
5 10-24-2012
A must have!

This vise is a must have for serious guitar making and repair. It made such a huge difference carving my first neck with it, compared with the necks I made previously. It is so easy to secure the neck in any position, and to quickly change clamping spots. It doesn't matter if the surfaces are flat or curved; it holds them secure without damaging the wood.

Chris K  Bidwell, OH
5 10-18-2012
not yet

Hi everyone have not had a chance to use the vice as yet but on inspection it looks a well thought out and sollid peace of gear i would say that my grandson will enjoy it some day when his dad finishes with it

G.J.B.  Kelso N.S.W. Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 10-10-2012
another wonderful stew mac tool

it sure makes life a lot easier around the shop with this vise. a little tweaking, & it works great. couldn't do without it

larry riedell  grafton, wisconsin Read my reviews (10)
5 9-06-2012
Nice piece of equipment

I was a little concerned about manufacturing quality control issues upon reading some of the earlier reviews of this vise. The fact is, quality control in Asian manufacturing operations can be spotty until you get proper procedures in place and have appropriate supervision. Judging by the vise I received a few weeks ago, any earlier manufacturing issues have been rectified.

Careful inspection of this vise reveals careful assembly and close tolerances. Mechanical action is smooth and tight. Nor worries about this vise. It's a useful, high-quality shop item.

Jonathan Ward  North Carolina
4 7-24-2012
Great Vise - Excellent Customer Service.

Received the vice and had an issue opening the vice more than half way. The crank wheel would stick. Customer Service sent me out a new vise strait away and it's working great.

T. Dutra  Georgia
4 7-10-2012
1813

This is a very useful and quality vise. Paddles not perfect grip, I had to insert some washers to adjust.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 6-04-2012
Nice Vise

Not sure what some of the other reviewers are complaining about - this vice does exactly what I need it to do - holds the guitar securely in place while I work on it. It was very easy to mount to the workbench and seems solidly constructed.

Carey  Philadelphia
5 5-30-2012
Useful, heavy, solid, vise

I had mixed feelings when ordering this vise due to the mixed reviews. A few very poor reviews really make you wonder what you're getting into.

I've had good luck with all other stewmac purchases and tools, however, and knew if there was an issue I'd be taken care of, so I ordered the tool.

It weighs about 40lbs and ships double-boxed. It arrived in good condition and was easy to setup.

Based on other reviews I did partially disassemble the vise and clean up paint overspray as well as add lubricant to all parts.

No issues with missing parts, assembly, or functionality. I've had 4-5 guitars on the bench and mounted\held by the vise in numerous positions so far. No marring, scratching, or other related finish issues to report. The jaws are soft enough to protect your work and hard enough to keep a good grip on it.

If you do a lot of work on the bench and need a solid extra hand to help out, this is a good tool. It does take up a lot of space on the bench so plan your placement well. If you have limited workspace the vise can easily be removed in about 20 seconds.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
3 5-20-2012
Guitar Repair Vise

The first vise I received was a real disappointment as it was hard to move with one hand. Stewmac were straight onto this and sent me a replacement which is smoother, but not really up to the standard I was hoping for. In hindsight I would not pay the $200 plus for shipping to Australia again. The vise will surely last and will do the job for which it is designed I'm sure, hence the 3 stars but it is definitely not built to exacting tolerances. Thanks stewmac for excellent customer service, but would look for a better factory to develop this idea and maybe charge a little more for a quality product.

Neil L  Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 3-21-2012
CUSTOMER SERVICE

this is one of those tools that you don't no how you did with out and stewmac's customer service is the best in the world hands down the first vice i got was junk i call them and 2 day's later i had a new one that was flawless they made a customer for life thank you stewmac

Scustom  IN U.S.A
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 20 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce