Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Jack The Gripper

Jack The Gripper


Read 43 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Ingenious! Holds the jack steady so you can tighten/loosen the nut without disassembling your instrument or amp.

See details below

Email a friend
Jack The Gripper

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0814 Jack The Gripper Yes
$36.70


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ESP Multi Spanner



Output Jack Wrench



Switchcraft Output Jack



Jack Installation Tool



Bullet Guitar Jack Tightener



ESP Multi Spanner
Output Jack Wrench
Switchcraft Output Jack
Jack Installation Tool
Bullet Guitar Jack Tightener



Details
 Pictures
 Video
A loose nut on a 1/4" jack is trouble. It's no fun to watch the jack disappear into your guitar or amp as the nut falls off, or to break a solder connection when you tighten the nut and the jack turns with it.

Designed by veteran repairman Frank Ford, Jack The Gripper is a smart tool that can save you a lot of time and work. Insert it into the jack, and the knurled cam locks in either direction, to hold the jack firmly while you tighten or loosen the nut.

Recessed jack? No problem—the tool also includes a clever steel adapter handle for use with your 3/8" square drive socket.

Instructions included.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 43 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 7-11-2011
Only two words: Fantastic solution

One of the more useful tools I've ever bought. Use it and you'll know why.

capitanfrancis  SPAIN, EU
5 5-12-2011
Brilliant!!!!

I was in two minds if I should buy this as Ive seemed to manage without one for years and given that its not cheap!!!!
Well,I'm glad I did. Ive used it over and over.
Great for semis.

terry chapman  UK Read my reviews (12)
5 3-12-2011
Stewmac stands behind their stuff!

I recently had a problem with a Jack the Gripper tool that broke. I had it for a while but used it very seldom. When it broke I called your customer service team. They replaced it without any hassle. You pay a little more but the service is unmatched!

Tim Lawson  Baton Rouge, LA
4 2-23-2011
Works perfectly!

This really works! My only complaint is that it is not the most rugged design. Still, it saves a lot of time and works as it should.

RalphL  Central Indiana Read my reviews (3)
5 1-15-2011
Jack the Gripper

A great tool to use with the recommended ESP Multi Spanner. You feel very reassured to know that you will not spin a jack and break wiring connections behind. Just make sure you tension the tool first before tightening as the cam movement has a lot of play between clockwise and anti-clockwise tightening.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
5 1-09-2011
A Real Winner!

This is a fabulous tool. I'm the guitar tech for a Broadway show and care for about 25 guitars. When I arrived on the job, at least two thirds of the guitars had loose jacks. With Jack the Gripper and your ESP spanner or output jack wrench it took just seconds to snug up each jack. "Jack" paid his way his very first day! A great quick and easy fix for a potential showstopper. Particularly helpful on semi-hollowbodies like Hofners, Gretches and Epiphones.

Bill Teeley  NY, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 12-18-2010
GREAT little gripper!

This is one tool that gets used daily in my shop! Every setup gets the output jack tightened. This tool makes it so easy and quick! If you don't own one now do yourself a favor and buy it now. You'll wonder how you ever got by without it in the past!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
5 12-12-2010
THE time saver in my shop!!

I run a successful instrument and amp repair shop and this little wonder is my moneymaker!!! I even use it in my production line!!!

Deuce Guitars  Gatineau, Canada Read my reviews (4)
5 12-04-2010
Brilliant Tool

I recently purchase the jack tool and used it about 10 ten times the first day alone snugging up amp and guitar jacks. Very handy tool. I give a solid 9.5 out of ten points

J.Hansen  Santee, Ca
5 10-26-2010
Frank Ford, You're A Genius!

This clever tool combined with the ESP spanner wrench is just the ticket for tightening all those guitars from "across the pond" whose out jacks just spin when attempting to tighten up, usually resulting in breaking a connection.
This saves me headaches every day!

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 27 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce