Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Jack The Gripper

Jack The Gripper


Read 43 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Ingenious! Holds the jack steady so you can tighten/loosen the nut without disassembling your instrument or amp.

See details below

Email a friend
Jack The Gripper

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0814 Jack The Gripper Yes
$36.70


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ESP Multi Spanner



Output Jack Wrench



Switchcraft Output Jack



Jack Installation Tool



Bullet Guitar Jack Tightener



ESP Multi Spanner
Output Jack Wrench
Switchcraft Output Jack
Jack Installation Tool
Bullet Guitar Jack Tightener



Details
 Pictures
 Video
A loose nut on a 1/4" jack is trouble. It's no fun to watch the jack disappear into your guitar or amp as the nut falls off, or to break a solder connection when you tighten the nut and the jack turns with it.

Designed by veteran repairman Frank Ford, Jack The Gripper is a smart tool that can save you a lot of time and work. Insert it into the jack, and the knurled cam locks in either direction, to hold the jack firmly while you tighten or loosen the nut.

Recessed jack? No problem—the tool also includes a clever steel adapter handle for use with your 3/8" square drive socket.

Instructions included.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Jack The Gripper
Jack The Gripper
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 43 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
4 4-20-2013
Good but confusing at first

It may be just me, but i had a time getting it to lock into place on a jack replacement I did for a customer, i hand tightened it but in a semi hollow body i like to make sure its locked in and no room for any movement, This tool worked and it worked great but it is not as easy as they show in the video and in the description it is a great buy but alittle tricky at first

Carl-David H  Eastern Shore MD
5 1-25-2013
Great Tool

Very useful tool for all output jacks - especially useful for endpin jacks on acoustic/electrics.

Jonesy from Joisey  NJ
5 11-22-2012
Perfect!

Perfect tool for the job.

Sam Eakins  Duncan,SC Read my reviews (5)
5 10-25-2012
Spot on!

Used this while upgrading an Epiphone LP, putting in a Switchcraft jack. Mounting it in the tight hole requires some rotation, just to ensure that the plug will enter nicely. The gripper did help in finding the right spot, and then in tightening the jack in place, all with the jack plate screwed on the body... Nice tool quality too!

Laurent  France Read my reviews (2)
5 10-06-2012
Jack the Gripper

About 3 weeks ago I was in Tahoe Cal with guy's I played music over 40ty years and the guitar I just put back together decided not to work the input jack pushed back in the guitar I was playing NOT GOOD well when I got home the first I did was order the gripper from Stew Mac life saver thanks for having these Great tools.. Steve the fireman

Steve the fireman  Vacaville ca Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-18-2012
Genius tool

Have you ever been stuck with a cheap chinese-made jack, where the sleeve has come loose from the wafer and lugs? I see plenty, and this is the only way to get them off sometimes. Gone are the days when I would try gripping the end of the sleeve with pliers (and damaging the threads) and trying to get the nut off with a spanner. Not to mention being able to tighten jacks without needing to hold the other side, huge time saver for hollowbody instruments, and ever regular old solidbodies!

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
5 7-15-2012
Hollow body problem solver

I had a loose output jack on a Gibson country gent & this ingenious device was just the ticket! Problem solved!

Ancient Picker  Tucson, Az Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
4 7-01-2012
Confusing directions clarified here

Great tool- confusing directions for dummies like me. Let me help- here are the directions that come with the tool: "Just insert the tool and the knurled cam will lock in either direction for tightening or loosening" The true or 'dummy' directions: On the video you can barely see it, but the host turns the gripper in the jack to engage the cam and lock the jack with the gripper THEN he turns the nut to tighten the jack. You do NOT just insert jack the gripper and begin tightening, as there is quite a bit of play in the tool prior to the cam engaging and locking, enough to significantly twist the jack inside the instrument before the gripper engages, which is what you bought to tool to prevent in the first place! SO the directions should warn you of this vital bit of info by stating the following- engage the cam by twisting the handle of Jack the Gripper prior to tightening the nut on the jack. Done- had to be said. Thanks for the great tool though - surprised there are so many geniuses out there that immediately understand the tool - I actually thought it was broken at first until I investigated and/or practiced using it.

GCG  Long Beach, Ca
5 5-15-2012
Brilliant!

This is a fantastic tool - it does exactly what it's supposed to do! Perfect for guitars, amps and effects as well.

Deane-Freeman Electronics  Adelaide, South Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 5-13-2012
jack the gripper

Don't let the comedic name of this device fool you. It's one of those tools, like, say, a cordless drill, that you keep thinking, "How did I get along without this?" It does what it does well, very well. A loose jack nut on a 335 was always a moment to be feared....not now. I was hesitant about the price, but now I think ,"Why is it so cheap?" Excellent old fashioned , sturdy quality, simple, why didn't I think of that design. If your guitar has a jack-socket nut, you need this, even if you only use it a few times.....it's that good.

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 27 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce