Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 186 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 186 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  19 >
4 10-16-2013
Quality product

Just finished my strat project the other day and set my guitar up. These files came in handy and worked very well. I wont be using them on a regular basis, if i had a guitar shop i dont know if they would stand the test of time or not. That being said they worked well and were delivered in a reasonable time frame and were packaged well as not to bend them.

Lojo  SoCal Read my reviews (2)
5 10-06-2013
Glad i got em

After completing 2 nuts i was unhappy with i decided to suck it up and get some nut files (i got the .013, .024 and .036). WOW!!! i marked my string positions and within 5 mins was done (needed some fine tuning but very little). They may seem a bit pricy for a beginner/hobbiest, but are definitely worth the price if you plane on doing your own nut and saddle.

jered  munster, in Read my reviews (5)
5 10-03-2013
very good

These files make life so much easier. You can actually get by with 3 of these if you pick the right ones. I've stacked the .010 & .013's with thicker ones to get a wider slot. You can also wobble them a little to pick up a few more .001ths. If you was working on all kinds of different guitars & strings, it would pay to get the whole set.

ph  Florida Read my reviews (18)
5 9-11-2013
Quality files for the job.

I was impressed by the quality of these files. The string slots were precise. The files are super sharp and cut through bone with light pressure.

Commissioner  Norfolk, VA Read my reviews (8)
5 9-01-2013
Slotting Files

Nothing but perfection!

Dr. T's shop  Read my reviews (2)
5 8-30-2013
i'm nuts about your files...again!

for a newbie, i thought i'd never actually have to order another set of nut files, but since the first ones from stew mac worked so well, i thought i'd go with them again....i didn't wear out the first ones, i lost them. only suggestion would be to have a hole in them in order to hang them on a nail or such. I haven't tried to drill them, but bet their a bugger. nice files.

Campo Electric  Pollock, Louisiana Read my reviews (2)
4 8-26-2013
Makes cutting slots easy.

Good files. Like any files they have their own touch. I find these files do the job great once you get a feel for them. Expensive, but worth it for me.

All-Strings Instrument Service  IL Read my reviews (8)
3 8-20-2013
The .010 file

3 stars due to the total lack of rigidity. Can't see this being very useful for nuts without adding some back bone (as others have mentioned) to keep it rigid and straight.

Matt Robbins  S. Mars, The Milky Way Read my reviews (3)
2 8-13-2013
Thin files aren't strong enough.

I have a set of the other Double Edged nut files, which are better in my opinion. But as they don't have .010 or .046 gauges I ordered these gauged files. No complaints with the .046. The .010 had a curve in it. Stewmac were quick to send me a replacement and well packaged, but it to was warped. I put it down to the travelling conditions, but I am sure they wouldn't be very sturdy upon use given this. These files aren't thick in the middle and then tapered to the edge of the file, like the double edged files, which makes the thinner files weak.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-09-2013
Nice nut slotting tools

The files seem to be good quality. They cut fairly slowly, which is good to get the slot exactly to its final depth.

Zeke 
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce