Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 186 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 186 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 131 – 140 < 1  ...  13  14  15  ...  19 >
5 9-22-2011
what the doctor ordered!

the excellent quality & value of tooling from stew-mac makes any repair job/build project easier...the nut slotting files assure a precise job every time. keep 'em clean for a proper cut.

Steve Fazekas  Sarver,Pa. Read my reviews (5)
5 9-15-2011
Great file

These files work great. I have these for the in-between sizes for the two sided files.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
5 9-03-2011
Great files

These are very accurate files…make sure you clean them often. I have every size (some I’ve had for years) and I use them all the time

Norman Letendre  Newington, CT Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-28-2011
Perfect tool for the job

In the beginning I made a few nuts with just 2 or 3 files, rocking them back & forth to file the appropriate size slot, but recently purchased a broader selection of sizes, and my nut making & setups are going much more quickly, and with greater accuracy!

Old Town Gutiars  Georgetown, TX Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-28-2011
Worked Perfect

The G slots on my Ibanez mandolin were not cut deep enough and, this file was the perfect solution. Took no time at all and, the problem was corrected. Using the right tool for the job makes all the difference. Glad I found StewMac for this tool and their Great how to alticles.

TG hoffman  Albert,Kansas Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-26-2011
Nut slot files make a huge difference

I've put up with trying to do this job with a selection of needle files for years now, these nut slotting files are so much more precise and time saving.

Penny Guitars  Adelaide, South Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 8-24-2011
right tool right job

Gotta have the right tool for the job. Necessary to adjust string nut slot depth. No teeth on the sides, just the edges, love these files.

Mudbug765  Hartford City, IN Read my reviews (13)
4 8-02-2011
Not bad

The 0.010" width file is a little on the flimsy side, but does the job well.

Chucka  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (8)
5 7-30-2011
the best choice!!

I have sure I did the right choice !! the best files for to work my guitar

andreluth  Curitiba Paraná Brazil Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-30-2011
Fretting is more easy !!

I have been used this fret wire and the are very good and accurate!!
Thanks again!!

andreluth  Curitiba Paraná Brazil Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 131 – 140 < 1  ...  13  14  15  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce