Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Three-in-one Fret File

Three-in-one Fret File


Read 58 Reviews   |   Write a Review

This wooden-handled file features three interchangeable 1-7/8" hollow burrs for recrowning a wide range of fret widths, from basses and guitars to mandolins.

See details below

Email a friend
Three-in-one Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0685 File handle with 3 burrs Yes
$49.11

0679-N Narrow replacement burr only Yes
$14.56

0679-M Medium replacement burr only Yes
$14.56

0679-W Wide replacement burr only Yes
$14.56


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
The 4-1/2" long steel shank is angled for efficiency and clearance over the guitar body. Useful for a wide range of fret widths, from basses and guitars to mandolins.

#0685 Includes 1 wooden-handled file and 3 burrs in these sizes:
- Narrow, 3/32"
- Medium, 1/8"
- Wide, 3/16"

Replacement burrs sold separately.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 58 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
5 3-16-2012
Nice tool

I only have this one in my shop, it can just be used in every situation, i´m really pleased with it.

Bjarne Bayard  Denmark Read my reviews (7)
5 3-04-2012
Excellent file

I just finished fretting a new fingerboard and used the Three-in-one Fret File for the first time. After leveling, I used the new Fret File to re-crown the frets and it worked perfectly, especially over the body where I usually couldn't get enough angle on the fret ends. Great Tool!!!!

Geary--GR Guitars  Flagstaff, AZ USA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-07-2012
WHAT THE FRET!!!

I love this little file. I use it often in my business of repairing guitars as well as when I build them! I like the interchangeable burrs. It makes it quick and easy to switch sizes between bass guitars and Elec/Acoustic guitars. If your looking for an inexpensive crowning file that does the job right then this file is a must!!

Stormeon  Frazee, Minnesota Read my reviews (2)
5 2-04-2012
Excellant quality

Ever thing I've ordered from stewmac has surpassed the stated quality.The prices are expensive,but not out of line.

lonnie barber  manchester,Tn.
2 11-06-2011
3 in 1 Fret File

It has good ergonomics and seems well build. I have just finished my first level, crown and polish job to a good result of a low action setup. I do have to say I don't like this tool much. I didn't matter if I used gentle stokes or firm stokes the file left decent chatter marks requiring long cleanup time. I had to clean the file every very frequently as the fret filings built up under the file and the file rolled on top of the filings.

It helped me get the job done to a good standard, but I think I'll try the diamond files next time. Please be aware, this is the first time I've crowned frets, maybe that's the way this job is! I very happy with the end result but think it took more effort the should be required.

Craig Chen  Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 10-17-2011
Another awesome tool from Stew-Mac!!

You've hit it out of the ball park once more on this one!! Does all I need it too and all in one tool. Great $$ saver for a small shop like mine.

Donnie Smith II  Fenwick, WV Read my reviews (4)
1 9-28-2011
Don't buy this tool, waste of money...

I've bought a lot of items from SM but this is the worst. The burrs dull quickly. It's not going smooth and leaves teeth marks. It ruin my frets and I had to refret. I've threw it away. Buy the diamond or the double edged file.

Nissan Hayun  Israel Read my reviews (22)
5 9-26-2011
Excellent Versatile Tool

An inexpensive comfortable tool to hold.Can be used light or heavy to reem and crown frets. I also use small strips of sand paper placed under the burr to further shape and polish the frets.( Works as good as a fret polishing stick!)My Strat Smiles and sings like a bird.

Alex Wann  Benalla, Victoria, Australia Read my reviews (3)
1 9-24-2011
WASTE OF MONEY!

Not lasting. Bad quality. Had to refret my guitar! I've threw away mine to the trash!

Nissan Hayun  Israel Read my reviews (22)
4 9-09-2011
perfectible

is fast all good but its perfectible on the fixation system

alain delaunay  thénac france Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce