Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Nut and Saddle Shaping Files

Nut and Saddle Shaping Files


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Two files, four cutting surfaces! Refined in our own shops for smoother, easier nut and saddle shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4556 Set of 2 files Yes
$26.75


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Nut and Saddle Vise



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Nut Seating Files



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Nut and Saddle Vise
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Nut Seating Files
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
Articles
This pair of specialty files is ideal for roughing-in and fine-shaping the delicate contours of string nuts and acoustic bridge saddles. Using the files in combination, you can quickly refine a rough-cut nut to a smooth shape, ready for final polishing. The narrow cutting width makes it easier to round the top of a nut or bridge saddle more smoothly and accurately.

Each steel file is 10" (254.00mm) long with a rubber-coated handle for comfort, and has two different 5-3/4" x 1/4" (146.05mm x 6.35mm) cutting surfaces. That's four cuts in all: Coarse, Medium, Fine, and Extra Fine. The narrow 1/8" (3.18mm) edges are smooth.

Both Nut and Saddle Shaping Files are included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 9-18-2012
Fast, smooth cutting files

These files work great with both bone, and the synthetic nut and saddle materials. Low chatter, very little cleanup needed.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
3 9-08-2012
useful but could be better

The files are sharp and comfortable to use. They are 7mm wide on the cutting face. I would prefer if they were 9mm or 10mm so you could notch for a b-string on a saddle with one stroke; and a wider files is less likely to slip on the corners. Also the fine file is more than adequate. Roughing should be done on a much larger file and/or a belt sander.

Moriarty Guitars  Dublin Ireland Read my reviews (12)
5 4-28-2012
Shaping files

These things cut a bone nut down in a hurry and have it ready for polishing in no time.

J. Wiseman  USA Read my reviews (8)
5 12-17-2011
Great Nut Files!

Had to wait on these for a while because they were out of stock. It was definitely worth the wait! They make it almost impossible to screw up with the cool filing surfaces adjacent to smooth sides. Go, Stewart MacDonald!!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 6-22-2011
Another Great Stew-Mac Tool!

These are very high quality files that are just perfect for working on nuts and saddles. Cheaper files wear out, and aren't always straight. Stew-Mac's files are top-quality, and they'll last a lifetime with proper use.

MacDonnell Guitars  USA Read my reviews (5)
4 6-09-2011
You only need one of these, not both

I only use the course/medium file to carve the nut. The finer file is good for a few other things, but is generally too fine for any nut work. I go through them and have drawers of unused fine files. We just don't use it. I wish stew mac would offer them separately. Oh well, you can't have everything, where would you put it?

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
5 6-05-2011
Quality tools.

Quality tools which work well. What more can you ask for?

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
5 4-23-2011
Simply perfect

These files have made working on my guitars fun again. Each side has a different grit, long and with thin rubber grip allows me to feel the drag as I sand nuts and wood. just a quality product.

John R  West Chester, PA Read my reviews (8)
5 3-14-2011
Nice tool but necesary?

I got these files for shaping bone nuts for my first dulcimer build. i was so into the work that i forgot i had bought these, and used a piece of sticky circular 220 grit sandpaper mounted to the bench top instead, which worked perfectly. i imagine as i continue on with building i will use these files. they are very well built and cut with ease.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
5 12-09-2010
Really like these.

I debated buying these but I'm really happy I did. I like all 4 cutting surfaces, the narrow width and long length give a lot of options as to how you can use these. I feel the files leave a nice surface if you are careful, but you can always smooth the nut or saddle with fine sandpaper if you want more polish. Considering that you essentially get 4 files out of this pair, they are also a great value.

Ryan Rua  USA Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce