Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Nut Seating Files

Nut Seating Files


Read 31 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Sturdy files for cleaning and squaring nut mounting surfaces. They file only the bottom of the slot, leaving the side walls unscarred.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut Seating Files
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5055 For 1/8" wide nut Yes
$20.95

5056 For 3/16" wide nut Yes
$23.10

5057 For 1/4" wide nut Yes
$36.57

5060 Set of 3 SAVE $8.86 Yes
$71.27


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bleached White Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Pillar File

Bleached White Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Pillar File



Details
 Pictures
Articles
These files have fine and medium cutting surfaces.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three files.

Each file is 7-3/8" (187.33mm) long, with 4" (101.60mm) cutting surfaces and a rubber-coated handle. To keep the file from binding in the slot, we have designed these files to be slightly narrower than the nut size specified. An undersized file also helps to prevent widening the slot width—ensuring a snug fit for your nut.

5055 For 1/8" (3.18mm) wide nut Works for Fender® guitars and basses
5056 For 3/16" (4.76mm) wide nut Works for Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
5057 For 1/4" (6.35mm) wide nut Works for classical and Dobro® guitars


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 31 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 7-05-2011
Perfect for nut slot chip out

These files work great for evening out a nut slot that has been chipped up. Use these after the micro chisel for very nice and flat slot.

MidnightGuitarRepair  Rochester NY Read my reviews (4)
5 5-12-2011
Great tool!

Great tool cleans the slot well. This tool is a must for clean nut work, and fixing others rushed work.

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
5 4-15-2011
nut seat file

I purchased the 1/8" Fender sized files.This has got to be,beyond a doubt,one of the best tools in a builders arsenal.It is perfect for finishing a nut slot to proper depth.With both grits,it gives the option of a quick cut or a slow(walk-in)cut.

Tom53  Iowa Read my reviews (2)
5 1-27-2011
If you do nut work, buy these.

Pick up all three and save yourself a lot of trouble.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
5 1-23-2011
Must Have.....

Besides the top quality of these files, there is no substitute for them. And they repaired my screw-up from not using them in the first place!

Gordo K.  Columbus, Ohio Read my reviews (2)
5 1-21-2011
A Winner

Makes for rapid cleaning of nut slots,does a great job,great file.

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
4 11-25-2010
Worked Great

Good quality. The choice of coarse or fine on same file allows you to remove bulk of wood quicker and then use the fine side for more precise work.

JSarge  Attleboro, MA Read my reviews (4)
5 11-14-2010
excellent

Great files. i have the 3/16 and 1/4 sizes. i use them often and i am glad i own them.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
5 10-26-2010
Another tool you just gotta have!

If you do any nut work at all, you need one of these files. Buy one of these and you'll never ruin another slot by hitting it with the edge of a standard file. This simple file keeps the edge of your work square and clean while allowing you to clean a Fender style nut slot or straighten out a Gibson style nut platform that was been abused.

JRE Productions  Plainfield, IL USA Read my reviews (5)
5 10-08-2010
Great wish I had bought them years ago...

The nut seating files from Stew Mac are the greatest leap forward in nut seating technology since the chisel.

Restorationad  Morrisville Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.


Dobro® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce