Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Dragon Hand-cut Rasp

Dragon Hand-cut Rasp


Read 44 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast working, super-smooth cut.
Unequaled for neck shaping and contouring.

See details below

Email a friend
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4151 Large, coarse Yes
$52.23

4152 Large, fine Yes
$52.23

4153 Both large rasps SAVE $8.75 Yes
$95.71

4154 Small, coarse Yes
$32.78

4155 Small, fine Yes
$32.78

4156 Both small rasps SAVE $5.50 Yes
$60.06

4157 Double-radius, coarse Yes
$42.23

4158 Double-radius, fine Yes
$42.23

4159 Both double-radius rasps SAVE $7.00 Yes
$77.46


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Luthiers File Set



Guitar Brace Chisel



Razor Files



Honduras Mahogany Neck Blank for Acoustic Guitar



Electric Guitar Neck Blanks



Luthier's File Set
Guitar Brace Chisel
Razor Files
Honduras Mahogany Neck Blank for Acoustic Guitar
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks



Details
 Pictures
Dragon handcrafted steel rasps have become our first choice for quickly shaping instrument necks, solidbody guitar contours, custom jigs and clamping cauls.

Double-cut rasp has two different radii for quickly shaping a neck heel or the base of a peghead.

Dragon rasp teeth are individually hand-struck on both sides of each file, leaving a slightly random pattern that a machine-made rasp simply can't equal. This reduces chattering and "wandering," giving a smooth but aggressive cut.

Dragon rasps have the right shapes for contouring a variety of neck sizes.

Use the coarse rasp to quickly shape:
• Solidbody contours
• Necks and bridges
• Jigs and cauls

Follow with the fine rasp for:
• Final shaping
• Smoothing
• Softening corners

Large 10" long x 1-5/8" wide   (254mm x 41.28mm)
Small 6" long x 1-3/16" wide (152mm x 30.16mm)
Double-radius 7" long x 7/8" wide (178mm x 22.22mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 44 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 7-14-2011
Great tool

This tool has revolutionized how I shape necks. I don't know how I worked without it up till now. It cuts so fast, but it can be smooth too.

David Newton  Beaumont, Tx Read my reviews (10)
5 6-23-2011
amazing rasp

I was a bit dubious as to how good a rasp could be, which is why i went for the double radius (then i dont have to buy two). But i was amazed at how it cut through the timber, so easily and smoothly and the double radius is real handy too.

flatfootjohnny  London Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-22-2011
Very efficient rasp - worth the price

Almost a year ago I bought a small/fine half-round version of these Chinese-made rasps. Its quality is really great even if it was made in China proving that not everything coming from the Asia is really sub-par. The teeth on my small rasp are still sharp and the tool is a joy to work with - it cuts fast, effortlessly and leaves a smooth surface. I used to only employ my spokeshave to shave the necks, and now I engage this rasp more and more often to do the same task (it's a great addition to the spokeshave). Besides the neck shaping there all the other sorts of shaping jobs where this rasp excels. Now I just need to buy the coarse one :)

Serge  Montreal, Canada Read my reviews (4)
5 6-21-2011
Great quality rasp!

I was very impressed how you can both aggressively cut yet maintain some pretty good control. I shaped an entire neck with this rasp and a spoke shave. It worked very well.

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-03-2011
Dragon Hand-cut Rasps

In my 43 years of luthiery I've never found anything better than these files. Buying the full set is expensive, but I did it and I've never looked back. I had a visceral rush when I first used them and you'll have to keep them locked up to keep your friends from temptation-I've been warned already. They're fabulous and much more fun than a computer and a CNC rig. If you don't invest in these files you're pathetic.

john abbott  south dennis,ma.
5 4-16-2011
superb

If you make guitar necks or have any desire to do so and don't own this tool...buy it now! It makes the job like brushing hair, literally. It is that easy and works just like that

coolhanddflexx  Orlando,Fl
5 4-11-2011
Great rasp

I am not a very experienced woodworker, but I have to say it works really well when I am shaping the neck on my classical project.

DagS  Norway Read my reviews (10)
5 4-10-2011
go the rasp!

i love this little thing, its on my bench all the time, waiting to be used. i keep finding new uses for it- any time i need to shape anything or, flatten something, take a little bit off for whatever reason. it doesn't tear out the grain, just needs a little sanding to finish off.

greebly2  australia
5 4-06-2011
LOVE IT

I Love All the Dragon Rasps, coarse fine large or small they are outstanding, I bought the liquid plastic dip from home depot to put on the handle's they will tear your hand up, but in all aspects you can take this thing and rip through a 2X4 with it

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
5 12-21-2010
Well Worth the Money

I am not a full-time luthier, but I am learning under one while going to college. I used to form necks using a combination of belt sanders and pad sanders. This rasp beats them hands down. It cuts through the wood very quickly and accurately.

The person who is teaching me now is considering getting one due to its ease of use after 30+ years of being in the business and I am also considering getting the smooth cut rasp now since the rough cut worked so well. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a neck shaping tool.

Robin  Pomona, CA
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 25 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce