Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Dragon Hand-cut Rasp

Dragon Hand-cut Rasp


Read 44 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast working, super-smooth cut.
Unequaled for neck shaping and contouring.

See details below

Email a friend
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4151 Large, coarse Yes
$52.23

4152 Large, fine Yes
$52.23

4153 Both large rasps SAVE $8.75 Yes
$95.71

4154 Small, coarse Yes
$32.78

4155 Small, fine Yes
$32.78

4156 Both small rasps SAVE $5.50 Yes
$60.06

4157 Double-radius, coarse Yes
$42.23

4158 Double-radius, fine Yes
$42.23

4159 Both double-radius rasps SAVE $7.00 Yes
$77.46


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Luthiers File Set



Guitar Brace Chisel



Razor Files



Honduras Mahogany Neck Blank for Acoustic Guitar



Electric Guitar Neck Blanks



Luthier's File Set
Guitar Brace Chisel
Razor Files
Honduras Mahogany Neck Blank for Acoustic Guitar
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks



Details
 Pictures
Dragon handcrafted steel rasps have become our first choice for quickly shaping instrument necks, solidbody guitar contours, custom jigs and clamping cauls.

Double-cut rasp has two different radii for quickly shaping a neck heel or the base of a peghead.

Dragon rasp teeth are individually hand-struck on both sides of each file, leaving a slightly random pattern that a machine-made rasp simply can't equal. This reduces chattering and "wandering," giving a smooth but aggressive cut.

Dragon rasps have the right shapes for contouring a variety of neck sizes.

Use the coarse rasp to quickly shape:
• Solidbody contours
• Necks and bridges
• Jigs and cauls

Follow with the fine rasp for:
• Final shaping
• Smoothing
• Softening corners

Large 10" long x 1-5/8" wide   (254mm x 41.28mm)
Small 6" long x 1-3/16" wide (152mm x 30.16mm)
Double-radius 7" long x 7/8" wide (178mm x 22.22mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 44 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 8-24-2013
Effective tools!

I like the small double radius rasps a lot! Thanks for a great tool!

Janne K  Oulu, Finland Read my reviews (3)
5 6-10-2013
Perfect and fun to use

This is my first guitar build, and really one of my first woodworking projects. I quickly found I loved carving the neck. I used the small size coarse and the double radius fine, which worked great. A lot of elbow grease and sanding, and the neck is coming along great. These rasps cut well and were pretty easy to use. Made the neck carving process very enjoyable. Best part of the build.

Andrew H.  South Carolina, USA Read my reviews (44)
5 4-26-2013
Pride of Ownership

Never thought that I could take pride in a utilitarian item such as a rasp, but the rasps I received changed my mind. These are excellent, well-made tools that perform very well. thanks

Cameron Petersen  West Jordan, Utah Read my reviews (3)
5 4-18-2013
Awesome!!!

Can't speak for the large ones but the small ones work excelent!!! Not too agressive. Just the perfect balance of material removal with minimal effort. Must buy for neck shaping.

Smitty Lange  Erath, LA Read my reviews (4)
5 4-11-2013
The best

This is the best rasp I ever used!!!!! Excellent!!!!

Paisiosnikos  Greece
5 3-20-2013
Nice!

Ideal size for smaller instruments such as mandolin. Hand struck means better control and no chatter.

Fleer  Imperial, Mo. Read my reviews (29)
5 3-04-2013
Double Radius Rasps - Great!

I was a bit skeptical since I treated myself to Auriou flat combination rasps a year ago. Auriou rasps are excellent. I had no idea what a fine hand-made rasp could be like. They're nothing like the hardware store rasps I have. While the fit and finish of the Dragon rasps are not as fine as the Auriou, they are five-star worthy based on the price and usability. They cut very nicely and the two radii on each make them very useful in finessing braces and other work. Get Aurious if you can afford them, but you won't regret buying the Dragons.

JRC  Manheim,PA
5 2-15-2013
Great tools

Awesome rasps!

SARC  FL, USA Read my reviews (4)
5 2-09-2013
Double radius coarse

Never expected the performance this rasp delivers. Aggressive but not gouging like others. Cuts smooth and efficient. Thought it pricy, but a solid investment!

KColeman  Albuq, NM Read my reviews (6)
5 11-23-2012
A tool well worth the high price

I never thought I'd be nuts enough to pay $52 for a rasp. After using the 10-inch coarse model I'd probably pay double that if I had to replace it. The difference between using the Dragon and regular rasp is night and day. The 10-inch is phenomenal for rounding necks, but to be honest the smaller version would work just as well. I'm probably going to invest in a coarse and fine version in the smaller size. A plastic or wooden handle would be nice, but you can easily make/modify one that fits. I simply drilled out an old plastic handle from a cheap rasp and tapped it securely to the Dragon's existing handle. Took 5 minutes.

Marr's Guitars  Butler, MO
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 25 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce