Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Double-edge Fret File

Double-edge Fret File


Read 111 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our best-selling fret crowning file!
Precision-cut teeth for accurate fret shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4490 Narrow/Medium Yes
$38.79

4491 Medium/Wide Yes
$38.79

4492 Set of both files SAVE $10.00 Yes
$67.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Each of our popular traditional 7-3/8" x 5/8" tool-steel files has two different 4" hollow-ground cutting edges, for recrowning a variety of fretwire sizes. These files were designed by luthiers for luthiers and are an economical way to get your fretting kit started. The handle is rubber-coated for comfort.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both fret files.

How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 111 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10  ...  12 >
5 6-18-2011
Money well spent

Glad I spent the money on this file. Well made and very convenient with the multiple edges!

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
5 6-15-2011
Good basic fret file

I've had to level a few frets on my guitars, and this has come in handy for re-crowning them. Works great and should last for a long time.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
5 6-06-2011
Saved a lot of Hassle

I normally don't need much fret dressing when I make up a Soprano Ukulele fretboard..using a press to fit the fretwire I get them pretty level to start with... only requiring the minimum of attention to finish off.
Until the day I got some fretwire of a different profile mixed in with my normal stuff, causing lots of string buzzing problems. It looked as if I would have to remove and replace all the offending frets. Then I thought first of all I'll level them off with a diamond lap and then get myself one of these fret crowning files to profile them all to the same shape.
And, to cut a long story short,it worked great. It's one of the best tools I own. A bit expensive for a file, but as a retired Toolmaker I know these are not an easy tool to manufacture, so I consider it a worthwhile purchase.

Ken Timms  England
5 5-28-2011
Great tool

Did my first fret crowning with this and it went great.
Highly recommend.

Mojoman  Iowa Read my reviews (4)
5 5-25-2011
OTHER TOOLS NEEDED FOR BEST RESULTS

To get the best results from this product, get the fret dressing stick with the 600 grit, and get some flexible polishing papers, grits from 2000-4000. After that, apply some X-Treem metal polish. This will probably all cost under 60-70 bucks and will get you to a professional shine. I also have another secret process I add but I keep that a secret in my shop. ;)

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
4 5-16-2011
Good Job

Does a fine job, quite necessary for your kit

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
5 4-24-2011
Happy Customer

This was the first time to try to level and crown frets, and it turned out great. I will continue to do more of my own guitar work.

mamonday  Albertville,Al USA Read my reviews (2)
4 4-24-2011
Pretty good tool. Good value.

I have done a few recrownings but for my first full refret job I decided to give these files a shot. They definitely got the job done. As another reviewer stated, they are not very aggressive. I ended up using a three corner file to start the crowning on each fret and applied the final touches with the double edge fret file. I couldn't be happier with the result. Absolutely the right tool for the job and for the price a good value as well.

K Moran  Northborough, MA Read my reviews (3)
4 4-18-2011
Crowning Files

These files do a very good job of shaping the frets. Not very aggressive, so you will have to work the frets pretty good. Better in the long run, avoids additional dressing after the fact.

Tim S.  Raymertown, NY
4 4-06-2011
not bad

i think the cheaper one does a better job, seams to be less work on the finishing side of things, these seam to leave me more work, But this is just my opinion

smokie  IL, Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce