Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Double-edge Fret File

Double-edge Fret File


Read 111 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our best-selling fret crowning file!
Precision-cut teeth for accurate fret shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4490 Narrow/Medium Yes
$38.79

4491 Medium/Wide Yes
$38.79

4492 Set of both files SAVE $10.00 Yes
$67.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Each of our popular traditional 7-3/8" x 5/8" tool-steel files has two different 4" hollow-ground cutting edges, for recrowning a variety of fretwire sizes. These files were designed by luthiers for luthiers and are an economical way to get your fretting kit started. The handle is rubber-coated for comfort.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both fret files.

How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 111 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  12 >
5 2-19-2012
Great File

I have the N/M file and to date I have used it to recrown 6 guitars.This file is a very well made tool that cuts great.I also use the file with sandpaper to polish the frets.The finished product is no less than amazing and it cut my recrowning time in half.I will soon be ordering the M/W because the N/M is not big enough for my Les Paul copy or my Jackson.I am very pleased with this tool.

J. Wiseman  USA Read my reviews (8)
4 2-04-2012
File that files

Never done this before. I flat filed the frets and then contoured them with this file. I then polished them with 400/600/800/1000/1200/1500/2000 grit and some rubbing compound. Without this file the job would have been extremely difficult. I wouldn't want to tackle those frets with a 3 corner file. I think a finer file would have been better but that is just being picky.

Beginner  Saskatoon, SK
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-19-2012
File double-edge

Don't forget to buy this

polpick  netherlands Read my reviews (4)
5 1-12-2012
Great

After u level, U must use it for perfect job

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-11-2012
Nice Tool

I have used this file enough that it is finally dull (~35 fret levels). I believe it would have lasted longer if I wasn't engaged in such a steep learning curve when it came to making necks from scratch.

The Medium side of the file didn't have as nice as teeth cut into the file and wide side, so you were limited to using half of the Medium side.

Nice tool though, especially if you don't intend to do a lot of fret work.

I will be upgrading to the Diamond file.

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
4 12-18-2011
Double edge fret file

works great with stew mac wire, easy to control , with almost no chatter. Right now using it on my fanned fret 7 str. best investment for your small starting shops. keep up the good work :)

Die Companies  Cleveland hts. OH
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-17-2011
Diamond is worth it!

The price pales in comparison when you realize the longevity and ease of use as compared with non diamond files. Being able to file on push and pull strokes is also a great way to self clean.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 12-15-2011
An easy tool to use.

I find this tool the easiest option when crowning frets. It cuts aggressively, leaves a reasonably smooth surface, and does not clog. It is easy to control and does not mark the fretboard. The mix of sizes is well considered, and it is certainly a more economical solution than individual files.

The only potential drawback is if you want to produce an odd or non-standard fret profile, then you will need to go old school with a triangular file, but my customers seem satisfied with the profile this tool produces.

Fred Hocker  Stockholm, Sweden Read my reviews (9)
4 11-22-2011
Nice file

Very well made and sturdy. I have done two fret jobs with the file and it hasn't worn down any at all, seems like it would last a lifetime. My only conplaint is the file requires a lot of effort. i am thinking of upgrading to the diamond files to save time and energy.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
5 11-13-2011
5 stars

this is a time saver file.

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce