Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Double-edge Fret File

Double-edge Fret File


Read 111 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our best-selling fret crowning file!
Precision-cut teeth for accurate fret shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4490 Narrow/Medium Yes
$38.79

4491 Medium/Wide Yes
$38.79

4492 Set of both files SAVE $10.00 Yes
$67.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Each of our popular traditional 7-3/8" x 5/8" tool-steel files has two different 4" hollow-ground cutting edges, for recrowning a variety of fretwire sizes. These files were designed by luthiers for luthiers and are an economical way to get your fretting kit started. The handle is rubber-coated for comfort.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both fret files.

How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 111 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  12 >
5 4-19-2012
Double-edge Fret File

Very good tools for save time and making a really good work.
Thanks a lot for a very professional team also.
Charly/Nîmes South of France

charly  splendid Read my reviews (4)
5 4-13-2012
Double-edge Fret File

Effective, fast, and reliable!

FritzMaster  Ontario
5 4-06-2012
Worth it

This is a very useful tool. While pricey as far as files go, they are a specialty item. They work beautifully and if you want accurate clean looking results, these are worth it.

Dulcimer Maker  Rockville, MD
5 3-19-2012
Good tool

I'm Just starting doing dressing, i did it once with a 3 sides file and never again... Its a lot easier And faster with this file...does a Great job...

Thanks Stew!!!

Martin (Beaud)  Gatineau,quebec,canada Read my reviews (3)
5 3-18-2012
Nice

Again was replacing some worn out tools StewMac had this cheaper than the other supply plus it has a Med and a Sm side not just one sided like my old one

J.A. Smith Guitars  Grand Island, NE USA Read my reviews (4)
5 3-08-2012
Gets the job done!

I ordered both files! I used one on my medium jumbo frets on my MIM Teleaster! Take you time and it works well! Crowned the frets to perfection! After I used it the frets were very easy to polish up to a smooth bright shine with little effort!

Big Ed  California Read my reviews (3)
5 3-03-2012
Perfect

Very effective tool!

Francesco  Italy Read my reviews (6)
4 3-02-2012
A tool thats neccesary for many setups

I've seen a few guitar necks that were twisted so bad right out of the shipping box that no amount of tweaking short of heat pressing and reclamping the fingerboard would make them play with acceptable action. More commonly however you might get one with a couple of high frets. I recently obtained a '65 Murph 12 string that had been kept under a bed for the past 40 years. It shared the same problem with a brand new Epiphone Emperor Swingster Custom I just got - a couple of the frets high up in the heel area of the neck where truss rod adjustment can't really provide any counter flex were simple too high. Visual inspection revealed a slight lump in the fingerboard itself seemed to be responsible. The problem was so high up on the neck of the Murph and only affected the high F note on the B string that the player probably simply never played lead high enough there to notice it. The fret file set was sure useful in fixing the problem without having to remove frets - particularly from the bound neck on the brand new Epi. This is only preferable to heat pressing or fingerboard shaving if the lump in the wood is under say .010". The SM crowning file set provides a choice of 3 different radii to accompate the crowning of various profile frets. A curved rather than straight-edged length profile would have made things a bit easier and Stew-Mac does in fact sell such tools but for general purpose work this file set cuts clean and gives the frets a nice crown ready for polishing.

A Luthier  Taylor, MI, USA
5 2-26-2012
Great files

I use to do this with a 3 corner file - never again. These files are easy to use, work great and won't damage the fingerboard. It pays for itself after just one use.

Joey A  Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Read my reviews (4)
5 2-25-2012
M/W File

Just like the N/M file,the M/W is the same great tool only bigger.

J. Wiseman  USA Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce