Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Essential Nut Making Tool Kit

Essential Nut Making Tool Kit


Read 26 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Ten-piece pro tool set! Our money-saving set of the basic tools you'll need for professionally shaping, laying out string spacing, and slotting a nut.

See details below

Email a friend
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5350 Essential Nut Making Tool Kit SAVE $24.41 Yes
$198.27


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Nut Seating Files



Guitar Grease



Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Guitar Shop Starter Kit



Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Nut Seating Files
Guitar Grease
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Guitar Shop Starter Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
These are the same quality tools we supply to busy repair shops! The kit is a great way to develop your skills with a modest investment in the proper tools.

Instructions included! "Nut Making and Setup," our guide to getting professional results. Read more

The kit includes:
Double-edge .012"/.020" nut file #4541
Double-edge .026"/.032" nut file #4542
Double-edge .036"/.042" nut file #4543
Double-edge .050"/.060" nut file #4544
Gauged .010" saw #3596
Feeler gauge set #1811
Nut & saddle vise #1816
Nut & saddle shaping files, set of 2 #4556
String spacing rule #0673

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 26 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 11-14-2012
Everything you need!

I used this kit to build the nut on my last project and im sure it will be used for many nuts to come. the only issue is that the slotting files aren't marked on the actual file, i had to use my calipers to find the actual gauge then write it on the file in sharpie. However, they certainly help make a solid nut! the picture is my first nut ever

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-07-2012
Excellent tool kit

Making a nut seems to be a art form that every guitar tech or luthier develops their own technique and skill set to achieve. This kit is definitely the nut builders palette and enables learning as much as improving and continuing to make great nuts.

Jared Corgan  St Louis, Missouri
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-29-2012
Nut Vise

i was givin a red and black nylon string guitar, that someone put a steel string nut on it and strung it up with steel strings, so it was a good practice guitar.

juanleggcraig  philadelphia Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-28-2012
great to have

I recently got this kit after paying someone $60.00 to put a nut on for me , do the math

Garry  Los Angeles CA Read my reviews (4)
5 6-11-2012
First Guitar

When I finally got down to the nut and the saddle I was concerned about if the guitar would even be playable. I waited to even order these tools until I had finished and installed the neck and bridge in case I got frustrated and used it for firewood next winter. After installing the nut with the use of this great tool set and going through the set up steps the enthusiasm returned. The guitar plays great. I am going to have to work on my finishing techniques but after this weekend I am starting to plan on my next one for my son. Thanks for your help and your great website and wonderful customer service. Ken - PS The tang nippers I ordered worked great.

Ken Pearcy  Georgetown, Tx Read my reviews (2)
5 2-08-2012
Exactly what I needed

This kit had exactly what I needed to tackle my first nut. I really like the simplicity and accuracy.

el_hason  San Antonio, TX
5 11-18-2011
a dream

makes job alot easy then the old way great system

LOVE THIS  Miami Fla USA Read my reviews (4)
4 10-24-2011
Don't make a nut without it

All of the items in this kit are needed to make a nut. Hence the name. These tools made the making of my first nut, in my new guitar repair shop ;almost painless. Moreover, the quality of the tools is great . They are also effective on projects other than guitars . Add them to your tool box . You will not regret it. The kit is expensive, but worth it . Plus, Stew-Mac also has excellent customer service.

M. Thomas Mike's Guitar Works  Manchester,TN Read my reviews (5)
5 7-25-2011
Nut Making kit

Very nice tools, really all you need to make a nut from scratch or tweak a needy nut. Excellent quality; can't imagine not having this kit in my shop.

dangereye  charlotte nc Read my reviews (2)
4 5-15-2011
Essential indeed!

All you need for making and shaping nuts. The files are perfect for shaping and precision work and the spaceing rule is indispensable. I am yet to find a use for the feeler guages and saw, plus the vice could use some holes where you can mount it to a bench permanently, rather than using a clamp or putting it into another vice to keep it in place.

T Copley  Australia Read my reviews (22)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce