Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Clamps, support tools : Ibex Bridge Clamp

Ibex Bridge Clamp


Read 15 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A sturdy cast aluminum clamp with 1-1/2" maximum opening and 6" throat depth, for gluing a bridge or brace through a guitar's soundhole.

See details below

Email a friend
Ibex Bridge Clamp
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0682 Ibex Bridge Clamp Yes
$30.22
3 or more $27.73  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bridge Clamping Caul



Bridge Plate Stock



Bridge/Fingerboard Removal Knife



Surface Thermometer



Bridge Clamping Caul
Bridge Plate Stock
Bridge/Fingerboard Removal Knife
Surface Thermometer



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Designed by pioneering luthier Irving Sloane, this clamp works great with our Bridge Clamping Caul.

Recommended by restoration expert T.J. Thompson for use with the Thompson Belly Reducer, when flattening a "bellied" acoustic guitar soundboard.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Ibex Bridge Clamp
Ibex Bridge Clamp
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 15 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 10-07-2012
Amost ideal

I have three of these. They dont always clear the braces as comfortably as I think they should. Seems the throat of the clamp should be deeper particularly when used with the associated clamping caul.

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
3 3-05-2012
Price is a little off.

There is nothing wrong with this clamp, but after I bought it found the exact clamp much cheaper at a couple of different places.

Bearded Moose Guitars  Blue Ridge, SC Read my reviews (6)
5 12-25-2011
Perfect

This tool worked well for me. Just what I needed.

DaveS21  River City Ohio Read my reviews (2)
2 12-21-2011
DOESN'T LIVE UP TO IT'S NAME WITHOUT MODS

Without getting into specific detail of how we re-engineered this clamp to work in 99% of the bridge glue ups, especially when combined with the #4600 clamping caul; I'll just say;

[1]You will most likely find that you'll need to fit this clamp with cauls of your own to get it to butt up to the bridge plate. [2] You might need to relieve some material on the lower arm to get it to clear some of the taller X-Braces out there, and [3] you'll probably find that the nylon bushing is too large to clear over the average bridge when using a Bridge Clamp Caul..

Bottom line: Make sure your machinist and carpentry skills are up to snuff, before thinking that this clamp is true to it's name of Bridge Clamp.
As is, it's just a decent general soundhole clamp.

I SAY TO STEW MAC: Re-engineer this product with wider arm spacing and add lower arm adjustment screw, or aluminum "clip-on" cauls for butting up to the bridge plate, and you'd really have something!

doc  southport, nc Read my reviews (11)
3 12-13-2011
Not bad, but...

The first time I pulled this out to use it was with the sister bridge clamp (with 2 screws for the wings)and it was to small for the job. I couldn't get it on so I pulled my out my old clamp and used that instead. I probably could have made a new caul for the underside, but I reckon this is too tight, it should open at least 10mm wider.

Steve Salvi  Adelaide Read my reviews (2)
3 12-01-2011
Good ....

... but a too small opening throat for uses with a bit higher underside block.

Leonhard Augenstein  Germany Read my reviews (8)
5 11-18-2011
a must

for repair and new project but buy the complete kit for bridge

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
3 8-05-2011
Great product, but...

This is an outstanding item for using with the Bridge Clamping Caul. But the price is just ridiculous. I discovered after purchasing, I could get the same product elsewhere for less than half the price StewMac charges.

Mark Tripp  Olympia, WA
2 7-20-2011
Ibex bridge clamp

I'll have to disagree with the rest of my guitar making friends. Yep it's durable and can be used applications. The depth of the throat is not enough especially if your using it's 'Sister' clamping caul!
This item is well made but sure has it's short comings! I'd like the throat opened at least 3/4" so you can attach any underside block for adhering a classical bridge. Stewmac are the 'best' and I know they will, at some point address this products applications.

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
5 5-05-2011
Great!

This clamp does the job well and is gentle on the guitar. Definitely a worthy purchase.

Novice  Bloomer Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 22 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce