Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Clamps, support tools : Fingerboard Band Clamp

Fingerboard Band Clamp


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An ingenious idea borrowed from violinmakers, these economical clamps are a quick, efficient way to glue a fingerboard onto a neck.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Band Clamp
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3109 Fingerboard Band Clamp Yes
$4.34
4 or more $3.79  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius



Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar



Titebond Wood Glue



Shaped Violin Fingerboard



Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Titebond Wood Glue
Shaped Violin Fingerboard



Details
 Pictures
You won't need to spend time making cumbersome custom-shaped wooden cauls trying match a radiused fingerboard surface, either. The toothed outer surface of the flexible glue-resistant band engages a threaded plastic thumbnut that adjusts the clamping pressure. The flexible cradle conforms to the instrument's neck to help protect the finish.

We recommend positioning a band clamp every 3" along the fingerboard.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 1-23-2014
they work!

they work!

william chetney  Lake Charles, LA Read my reviews (4)
4 11-22-2012
band clamps

a bit tricky to use,but the fingerboard stayed in place and the job turned out fine,they will slip if you overtighten

Rod Yarwood  Springwood NSW Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 9-27-2012
Muito bom.

Essencial para trabalhos de colagens de escala

Rodrigo Gomes  Brazil Read my reviews (44)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-12-2012
Ingenious

Gluing the fretboard on is among the most difficult jobs we face. Like everyone here I've tried a dozen methods which I would or wouldn't recommend. These clamps - no looking back now. Good for repairs and building, won't stick to most glues, self-adjusting and just the right amount of pressure! I'd wish they were a bit more flexible as they may break on the sharp fretboard edges, so you may need some padding.

dmerkuloff  Kyiv, Ukraine Read my reviews (3)
4 3-11-2012
Useful item

These clamps do what they are supposed to do, and nothing more. They are time-consuming and sometimes nerve-racking to handle but they do a great service at aligning a fretboard with a neck. So I use 2, one at the nut and one at the heel, and use a radiused clamping block for the rest. Otherwise one needs to use at least 8 of these in order to prevent a wavy joint. Also, they do strip and break eventually...

Francis Voignier  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (14)
3 2-16-2012
Makes dents on the back of the neck

The plastic is rather stiff and when you tighten them up you will find that they dent the back of the neck. Glue felt on the curved parts that engage the neck it helps greatly.

Ian  Toronto Canada Read my reviews (3)
4 2-14-2012
Decent

These work well, but there are two things with them. One is that they only last for a few necks, past that they have permanent creases in them and don't apply enough pressure. Two is that the way they help to align the fingerboard doesn't work so well with fast drying, or stickier glues. On the last probably 5 of my neck I used these on they worked great but now one has broken, and the others aren't applying an adequate amount of pressure. I even had to take off and re-glue a couple of fingerboards because the smaller amount of pressure left gaps. I'm still pleased with this item over all, but $5 a piece seems kind of pricey for something that's disposable/will need replaced.

Nolan Peach  Colorado Read my reviews (10)
4 10-12-2011
How easy was that?

after making a mess of my first attempt I brought 12 of these bad boys and got the job done! due to the fact that it wraps around it allows you to line up the fret board with the neck nice and easy. 4 stars as a little more pressure would have been ideal. I still used a standard clamp for the heel and reccomend one of these clamps every other fret

BlackCrow  London UK Read my reviews (7)
4 10-02-2011
Alignment Wonders

These clamps are great for aligning a fingerboard, or anything else you need to glue to a rounded profile, but they definitely don't have the strength to apply the necessary pressure to glue the board up, so you'll still need to use other clamps along with these to get the job done.

Feral Customs  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (4)
4 9-28-2011
Not thrilled

These clamps are OK-but not for me. I prefer a clamp that gives equal pressure across the width of the fretboard. These clamps give great pressure to the edges, but totally miss the top.

Dave Snider  Advance, North Carolina Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 23 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce