Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Clamps, support tools : Cam Clamps

Cam Clamps


Read 32 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Traditional cam clamps made of hardwood and steel, for years of daily use.

See details below

Email a friend
Cam Clamps
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3721 Small - 4-1/2" throat, 15/16" width Yes
$17.32
3 or more $15.74  
6 or more $14.44  

3723 Large, 8-1/2" throat, 15/16" width Yes
$18.64
3 or more $16.93  
6 or more $15.53  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Mini Cam Clamp



Camless Clamps



Titebond Wood Glue



Go-bar Deck Hardware Kit

Clamps for Building an Acoustic Guitar Kit



Mini Cam Clamp
Camless Clamps
Titebond Wood Glue
Go-bar Deck Hardware Kit
Clamps for Building an Acoustic Guitar Kit



Details
 Pictures
They're faster and easier to use than metal C-clamps, and they give strong pressure for instrument assembly. Slide the upper jaw into position and flip the offset cam lever to tighten the clamp. The jaws have protective cork lining. Both sizes open to 8".

Stewart-MacDonald cam clamps are crafted in the USA from sturdy maple and strong rust-resistant galvanized spring steel, for years of daily use.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Cam Clamps
Cam Clamps
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 32 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 8-09-2011
Cam Clamps

I was very impressed with my recently purchased cam clamps. They are well made, easy to use, and will hopefully last a long time. I think I may have to invest in a few more of these clamps in the near future. Worth the five star rating.

Amp C Productions  Sheboygan, Wi Read my reviews (2)
5 7-13-2011
Excellent

You can't have too many of these! Versatile little clamp, easy to use one handed and fantastic clamping pressure. 101 uses around the workshop not just for luthery. At this price it's just not worth spending time building your own.

Ossie  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 7-10-2011
Nice!!!

These clamps where exactly what i expected. I bought a set of 4 of these clamps (8 1/2" throat) and successfully installed the bracing for the back of my guitar. The pressure given by these clamps was perfect, which is what they are for...

I will surely order some more of these clamps. Again, these turned out to be perfect for the job! A great investment!

Steve001  Montrea, Qu├ębec, Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 6-15-2011
cam clamps

I read some lukewarm reviews but decided to purchase anyway. Perhaps not as strong as other clamps, but it allowed me to attempt my very first repair of a Martin Takamine lawsuit guitar: buckling, bridge lift and loose brace. I removed the bridge with a Japanese saw, lined the bottom with aluminum foil, steamed the top over the stove, clamped the top between hardwood for a few days, which flattened out the top nicely. I then re-glued the brace with three adjustable brace clamps--which wasn't easy getting my arm in the hole-- and then re-glued the bridge with the cam clamps. Strung it up a few days later, and it plays quite fine. And the cutting off of the bridge with the saw did not leave to many signs of being "en-hillbillied." Though, next time I know to steam the bridge, work more slowly.
--Luthier Van Dross

Luthier Van Dross  NY
2 4-14-2011
A bit disappointed...

Okay, so here are a few reasons I am disappointed with this product:

1) The sliding wooden brace slides too easily on the metal shaft and it is difficult to get positive pressure (without the sliding brace slipping) while clamping.

2) Some corners/edges are smoothed (rounded) but the corner edge inside each wooden brace is pretty sharp 90 degrees, and hence easier to damage guitar wood and finish if using inside the sound hole.

3) The levers are tight and difficult to tighten one-handed without risking losing the positioning on the metal shaft hence losing the clamping strength.

4) The bottom (or top) corner of the stationary brace (the one that doesn't slide on the metal shaft) could be cut on an angle to make it easier to insert into sound holes without getting hung up on or bumping the bottom struts. This is especially important for guitars with small sound holes (classicals and small-body acoustics) and thin body guitars.

I have used hand-made clamps of the same type that are night-and-day different from these clamps.

I didn't make my own clamps yet because I don't have my machines yet, but once I get my machines I'll probably make some myself, even though it will take a bit of time.

I'd return the clamps but 1) cost of shipping to return makes it not worth it, and 2) I need them, even though they don't work great. (I'll probably recondition the ones I bought.)

MGR  Halifax, Nova Scotia, CANADA
4 3-14-2011
Made in the USA!

I was proud to buy these because they are made in the USA. I got the deep throat clamps to clamp the fretboard to the top on my first dulcimer build. I wish they had more pressure for this application, but I imagine the pressure will be just right for braces.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
5 2-10-2011
Usefull Clamps

I would like to thank to Stewmac for such a good clamps. They are so useful for braces. I am so happy to have them.

Orhan Ummetler  Kyrenia,Cyprus Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-11-2010
My custom alteration made a great usable clamp

I took my jigsaw to the bottom arm of a large clamp. I shaped it like their mini cam clamp with a deep contour on top, 1/4" off the bottom side and rounded front end so it would fit inside smaller parlor guitars I repair.

dustyamps  Springfield MO Read my reviews (3)
5 12-02-2010
I Like These Clamps!!

These clamps are great when you need on quickly and they really hold. My only complaint is that I didn't get them sooner.

Flankmanoman  Washington, Pa. Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-19-2010
perfect

I have purchased several of the small and deep throat clamps. They are nicely made and are also very sturdy.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 22 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce