Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Binding Router Guide

Binding Router Guide


Read 32 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Great for archtop instruments! Works where a standard router base can't. Fits Dremel and Black & Decker rotary tools. Router Bit sold separately.

See details below

Email a friend
Binding Router Guide
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5248 Binding Router Guide Yes
$42.70


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Router Bit for Binding



TrueChannel Binding Router Jig



Binding Router Bit Set



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Router Bit for Binding
TrueChannel Binding Router Jig
Binding Router Bit Set
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
This versatile attachment was designed by our own Don MacRostie for use with our Binding Router Bit. It screws onto the Dremel tool, and its thumbscrew-adjustable edge guide lets you cut an accurate ledge for any binding thickness up to .220".

Made of precision-machined aluminum and brass, it's great for routing the edges of archtop instruments, where a standard router base won't work. It installs easily on Dremel MultiPro™ or Professional rotary tools (and Black & Decker Wizard™/RTX™ tools), replacing the threaded plastic collar on the tool housing (fits 12 threads per inch).

Designed to be used with 5/16" diameter carbide-tipped Binding Router Bit.

Piloted Binding Router Bits also available.

"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?" Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a frequent question from customers: Which tools to use for routing channels for instrument bindings?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Binding Router Guide
Binding Router Guide
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 32 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 >
4 3-27-2014
Works as Described but Fragile

The guide works exactly as described but the body is made out of Aluminum, which does not hold threads very well. The depth roller support screw will wallow out in a few months. If it were made from steel, it would be a far better device.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
5 3-26-2014
Great

I was very satisfied.

Sousa  Açores
5 10-24-2013
Great tool

Very good tool, allows for different settings in all directions. Couldn't figure working without it

MPL Guitars UK  UK Read my reviews (3)
1 7-27-2013
Inadequate for the intended job

As other reviewers mentioned, this tool is very difficult to use without gouging the guitar sides unless you modify it to either extend the screw that runs long the side of the guitar (to make the tool more “stable”) or create a much wider flat base for it (for use on perfectly flat top only in this case and not on arch top as intended, And even that option is not good 100% because the tool design does not allow it to walk tight body curves like on a Strat or Tele). In any case, this tool is inadequate. The idea is good but the design is inefficient. Keep in mind you have already spent so much time putting your guitar body together and then you are ready for binding. The last thing you want to do at this point is to take the slightest risk of gouging the sides of your guitar or cutting a binding channel with irregular depths and width. In summary, I do not recommend this tool in its current design.

Tarek S.  Plymouth Meeting Read my reviews (3)
5 6-28-2013
Stew Mac Dremel Routing Adapter

This is a great tool if you are handy with a Dremel tool. It should zip around a flattop, or Arch Top Acoustic fairly easy and produce great results. I tried it on a telecaster body and it would not make the tight curves. I was able to sand and file the area and get the job done, but the housing on this tool won't make tight corners or curves. Its great quality and should last for a long time under normal use. Great product if you are working on an acoustic.

Spot's Dad  Kentucky Read my reviews (11)
1 6-14-2013
Piece of junk

Can't figure out if it's me or the tool or both that's completely useless. Even though i lengthened the support roller by more than double it's length i still could'nt keep it from rocking and routing to deep.

Gustav  Sweden Read my reviews (18)
5 5-04-2013
router binding guide

My first binding job,worked perfectly!excellent for arch top binding!

fairprtman  USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-09-2013
Handy but a little tricky

An excellent tool but it sometimes takes a little tweaking to get the adjustments right. One recommendation: practice before you use it. Once you get the hang of it, it's great

FountainCity  Columbus, GA Read my reviews (5)
5 1-25-2013
Yes, it could use a bit of modification, but that's the fun of it.

It looks a little precarious at first, and I noticed a few people extinding the guide bearing, but I just made a base...it took all of a half hour to put together. Found a scrap of rosewood that was nice and flat on the "base" side, drilled a 1 1/8" forstner hole, bandsawed a relief cut for clamping, drilled another shallow hole for adjusting nut clearance, bandsawed some excess, added a small clamp, and there it goes.

Lucas  WA
Customer supplied image for review
4 9-19-2012
Good Product, but needed improvement, to be great!

See photo for the way I re-engineered the screw through the brass roller. I borrowed someone's idea about extending the screw. I made mine out of an old door hinge pin. I installed it in my wood lathe and turned it down to proper dimensions with a "bastard" file. Then I re-tapped the threads (because I didn't have a tap or die small enough) to metric #3 .6. (smallest I had in my tap and die set). I cut a slot in the end of the screw with a fine bladed hacksaw for tightening with a screw driver. It works really well now because I can use the extended screw to hold against the sides of the mandolin. If Stew/Mac is smart, they will be offering the extended screw like this for sale before long... its a must have and is the way it should have been designed all along.

Rosa String Works  Newburg, MO Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 31 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce