Fret Scale Rule

  • 13 Reviews
  • Write a review

Determine fret spacings and layout fretboards accurately.

Read more
MIX 3+ SAVE
Buy ANY 3 or more and save $3.29 or more per item.
Enter quantities below, to see your savings. Buy more, save more!

Gibson guitar rule

Item # 0800
In stock, ready to ship!

$29.95

MIX 3+ SAVE
+

Fender / PRS / classical rule

Item # 0801
In stock, ready to ship!

$29.95

MIX 3+ SAVE
+

Martin / mandolin / banjo rule

Item # 0802
In stock, ready to ship!

$29.95

MIX 3+ SAVE
+
Currency:
Total: $0.00
Quantity: 20

Details

Determine fret spacings and layout fretboards accurately.

"Before working on any vintage guitar, I always check fret accuracy with these rules."
—Dan Erlewine

Our accurate, high quality 22" x 1-1/4" x .030" rules, crafted of durable stainless steel for years of service in professional repair shops. Each rule has four different fret scales, and features precisely etched, easy-to-read markings on both sides.

#0800 Gibson guitar rule
This rule includes Gibson's long scale and three shorter Gibson scales. The three shorter scales are different lengths, but over the years Gibson has referred to all of them as 24-3/4". For more detailed information, see stewmac.com/fretscales

  • 24.562" Gibson (24-9/16")
  • 24.625" Gibson (24-5/8")
  • 24.750" Gibson (24-3/4")
  • 25.300" Gibson long

#0801 Fender / PRS / classical rule
  • 25.5" Fender
  • 25" PRS / Dobro® / National™ / Benedetto
  • 650mm classical
  • 660mm classical

#0802 Martin / mandolin / banjo rule
  • 24.900" Martin short
  • 25.340" Martin long*
  • 13-7/8" mandolin
  • 26-3/16" banjo
*Martin long scale: The scale used on Martin Dreadnoughts is commonly referred to as 25.4" but is actually 25.34".


Product Instructions

Fret Scale Rule Instructions

Tips for using our fret scale rules for building and repairing guitars, mandolins, and banjos.

Ratings & Reviews

Fret Scale Rule

  • EXCELLENT PRODUCT
  • GOOD PRODUCT
  • AVERAGE PRODUCT
  • FAIR PRODUCT
  • POOR PRODUCT
  • Based on 13 Reviews
Displaying 1 of 2 1 2
Write a review

excellent

By \N from \N
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, June 27, 2014


very well made and clear markings. I live in the UK and Stewmac is the only place I can get a classical guitar fret scale rule so I am really please it is a top notch product at a fair price

Great time saver

By Michael Shaw from Philadelphia USA
(Customer's Reviews) Sunday, April 28, 2013


Well made and a great time saver. A+

Excellent addition to workbench tools.

By Bill Styler from Priest River, ID
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, December 14, 2012


So simple, I can even use it! Seriously, a time-saver.

easy   job

By niponz from Thailand
(Customer's Reviews) Saturday, September 08, 2012


fit scale made job to easy job

ok

By OTANIEL from CASCAVEL, PR, BRASIL
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, March 28, 2012


ok... gostei ... muito bom...otaniel brasil

great ruler

By DT from New-brunswick
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, February 17, 2012


this gibson scale ruler is amazing. no more guessing. Mark and cut with no hesitation.

A lot cheaper than fret templates

By Tai Fu from Taiwan
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, February 03, 2012


If you want to cut your own fret slot on the cheap but are hesitant because of the price of the fret template that only offers one or two scales?

This rule is a good alternative, and it gives you 4 scales to work from... just make sure you don't confuse it.

It would be nice to have one scale for 4 different common manufacturers like Fender 25", Gibson 24 1/2", Martin long, and mandolin...

Here's a tip:

By morgdan from Mendocino, CA
(Customer's Reviews) Tuesday, May 17, 2011


I love this scale. No complaints! But I had a few near misses with confusing the Martin short and long scales (almost put the bridge in the wrong place!) I finally figured out to put tape over the scale I was not using for the current project...

space ruler

By
Friday, February 11, 2011


This is really a good tool.I use to guess and hope to get it right. Most of the time I had to do it all over again. But with this ruler they're is no guessing. Its absolutely great. And when you play the instrument you'd swear its from the company itself. The spacing are so precise.

Excellent

By Ivan Souza from England
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, February 09, 2011


It has various rules as described:24.562 , 24.625 , 24.750, 25.300

It is very useful to measure and also to cut. Very accurate! Good material.

Gibson rules. No more guesses!

Displaying 1 of 2
1 2


Shown on page 14 of our latest catalog.
  • Dobro® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation
  • National™ is a registered trademark of National Reso-Phonic Company.
  • Paul Reed Smith® and PRS® are trademarks of Paul Reed Smith Guitars.