Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Dual Fret Scale Templates

Dual Fret Scale Templates


Read 54 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Accurate fret slots without guesswork. Designed for use with our Fret Slotting Miter Box, or your shop table saw.

See details below

Email a friend
Dual Fret Scale Templates
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4915 Martin 24.9" and 25.34" scales Yes
$40.85

4916 Fender 25.5" and other 25" scales Yes
$40.85

4914 Gibson 24.625" and 24.750" Yes
$40.85

4917 Gibson 24.562" and 25.300" Yes
$40.85

4918 Bass 34" and 35" scales Yes
$40.85

4919 Classical guitar 650mm and 660mm scales Yes
$40.85

4911 Baritone guitar 28.5" and 30.2" Yes
$40.85

4912 Bass 30" and 30.5" Yes
$40.85

4920 Banjo 26-3/16" and mandolin 13-7/8" scales Yes
$40.85

4909 Ukulele 15" concert and 13-3/4" soprano scales Yes
$40.85

4910 Ukulele 17-3/32" tenor and 20-1/8" baritone scales Yes
$40.85


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Japanese Fret Saw



Fret Arbor Press System



Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
Fret Arbor Press System



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Each template is made of durable stainless steel and has notches for two different fret scales. Includes an indexing pin and instructions.

Special notes:
4915 Martin Dreadnought scale is commonly referred to as 25.4" but is actually 25.34".

4916 For Fender 25.5" includes fretboard cut-off and nut positions. Also for 25" scales like Paul Reed Smith®, Dobro®, Danelectro®, and Benedetto.

4914 and 4917 We offer templates for Gibson's 25.3" long scale, plus three shorter Gibson scales. Over the years, Gibson has referred to each of the shorter scales as 24-3/4".

Read more about scale length


For use with a table saw: Install the supplied index pin in the fence of your table saw. Attach a template to the back of the fingerboard. On your table saw, align the blade perpendicular to the fingerboard, and saw the slots with the template side up. We recommend a Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade.

For use with a luthier's miter box: Simply attach a template to the back of the fingerboard, and saw each fret slot after locating the index pin (preinstalled in our miter box) in the corresponding template notch. We recommend our Fret Slotting Miter Box.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 54 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
4 5-13-2011
Great tool

I can't imagine tool money better spent if you are making a few necks. Makes the whole process really easy to do.

I would have given it 5 starts, but the template is a little thinner than the Stu Mac sawing jig - so you have to use clamps or it will move some. Other than that - this tools is perfect for what it does.

Mojotron  Seattle
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-13-2011
Accurate

I should have bought this template along time ago. It is a no brainer to use with the stewmac miter box and saw.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
4 5-10-2011
michael coolione

great product. i wish there were more scales available. 36" bass would be nice. also, whats this about no nut position on the guitar temp (steven d'antonio). that cannot possibly be right. one thing i noticed is when removing the board from the template having used doublesided tape (the strong 2" wide stuff), i found it a right struggle and bent the template in the process.

lettsy  uk
5 3-25-2011
Excellent

heavy duty, accurately machined templates - these should last a few lifetimes. Makes fret slotting a no-brainer.

Andrew Coholic  Ontario, Canada
4 3-22-2011
Very nice product

Very nice well constructed product.

The one thing I miss on the 25" scale is a zero fret position (makes locating the end of the FB real easy when setting the nut location).

Another nice suggestion would be a 25th fret. When cutting off the end of the FB after the last fret (24th) do you add .125", .25"... having a location for a 25th fret allows you to keep the same mathematical sequence going. The customer may not be aware of it consciously, but I feel it adds to the appearance on the instrument.

Steven D'Antonio  Bellingham, MA
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-10-2011
Makes slotting thoughtless

These make slotting a board quick and easy. I use this with a shopmade miter box and it works great. I only gave it 4 stars due to the cost, but still worth it if you plan to slot multiple boards.

Brian T.  Syracuse, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 3-04-2011
Dual Fret Scale Templates

Very good tool. Thank you.

Very good tool. Thank you.  Palatine,IL USA Read my reviews (2)
4 2-18-2011
More scale lengths please!

This is a very solid and accurate tool- does exactly what it is supposed to and won't ever need replacing. BUT I think they should offer a lot more scale lengths. When you're making your own guitar from scratch, you shouldn't be confined to a 25.5" scale! Make them longer, for extended conversion necks! And what if I want to make 24" scale necks, for M*stangs and J*guars? Make me a 24" scale template! Five stars when I get a 24" scale...

AndrewDoesHair  Corona, CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-31-2011
More than worth it.

If you make more than a couple of guitars a year, this more than pays for itself in accuracy, ease of use with the miter cutting box and efficiency of use.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
5 11-15-2010
Definite Must-Buy

I really wondered about the quality of this template. That is, until I opened the box. Heavy and perfectly spaced, this template will not let you down.

Erick Hanson  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 9 of our latest catalog.


Dobro® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.


Paul Reed Smith® and PRS® are trademarks of Paul Reed Smith Guitars.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce