Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Pickguards : Templates : Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates

Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates


Read 22 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Transparent acrylic templates to rout for Strat® and Tele® pickups.

See details below

Email a friend
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1096 For Strat or Tele neck pickup cavity Yes
$5.55

1099 For Tele bridge pickup cavity Yes
$5.55

1097 For Strat pickguard cutout Yes
$5.55


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set



Ball Bearing Router Bits



3M Double-stick Tape



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3M Double-stick Tape
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Details
 Pictures
Laser-cut for precise edges: Our routing templates are laser-cut for smooth edged precision, and centerlines are laser-etched when needed for correct placement.

Our 3/16" (4.76mm) transparent acrylic templates ensure proper router placement on a guitar body or pickguard, eliminate guesswork and produce cleaner results. They can be positioned with countersunk screws or double-stick tape.

Carbide-tipped Ball-bearing Router Bits are preferred for use with our templates.

These single-coil templates are also included in our Pickup/Control Cavity Routing Template Set which has ALL of our Gibson and Fender pickup routing shapes plus control cavities.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 22 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
3 7-05-2011
Router templates are fragile!

I just tried using the 1096 template on scrap wood and my router chewed the template up. The bearing on the SM 3/8 router bit is on the shaft, forcing you to expose a minimum of 5/8" of bit into the wood. This is way too deep a cut and the router can go out of control. Either mount the template on a piece of 3/8 plywood, or use the template to first trace out the cavity, then remove the template and use chisels to remove nearly all the wood before doing the final cut with your router.

SGMan  Pocasset, OK
4 6-16-2011
need to be thicker

I agree with the other reviewer about the thickness. When using a template bushing, the bushing comes into contact with the wood.

Faustino Gomez  San Antonio,TX
3 6-06-2011
Nice try, but not perfect

For this price, these are probably just barely worth it, better than making your own from scratch. But with a material this thin, it doesn't work well as a final router jig; I'd recommend using it as a starting template to make your own jig out of 1/2" - 3/4" plywood. You need that much wall surface for enough flexibility on your bit's roller bearing(s); this thin 1/8" wall won't even hold 1 roller bearing's width, so you'll constantly be resetting your router bit in the collet to work around the adjustment limitations for successive pass depths, and that's very time consuming and frustrating. Better to do that once, get a clean jig, not risk your bit jumping off the template wall and ruining your guitar. If you accidentally ruin the jig you can always make another one cheap.

Also, they seem to have some problem with their center line laser etching; mine was about 1-2 mm off, and although that doesn't sound like much, it was obvious to the eye when I did a test tracing that the pickup outline was slightly off center to the right (the Strat tremolo template had the same problem, which is why I wonder if it's systemic and not just 1 was goofed).

Final verdict, for this low price it was worth it just to have a decent template without having to make it myself, but triple check your center lines and make a 3/4" jig from it, then rout your guitar!

Charlie Livingston  Waxhaw, NC Read my reviews (6)
3 5-17-2011
nice, but could be improved

The templates could be thicker. It's hard to use a bushing or bearing with these. I put a shim between the tempate and the guitar, then removed it when the cavity was deep enough, and it helped. Also, the Tele template string holes are not accrurate for all Tele bridges. On the newer bridges, the string holes are closer to the pickup cavity. check before routing.

Murray  Champlin, MN
5 4-30-2011
Great!

They came with a protective layer of paper.

Really good material. It's really well made and it's been really useful. I'll buy the complete kit soon, i hope.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
5 4-14-2011
Accurate

just too thin,but copying it and making my own template from this with wood solved that.

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
5 3-08-2011
Acrylic router templates

These router guides are very precise and make routing a new body a cinch. Great product!!

Bart Long  Cheyenne, WY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-07-2011
excellent

for accurate and fast works

lycker  cagliari, Sardinia, Italy Read my reviews (12)
5 11-14-2010
great

plastic routing templates... what else do you want?

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
4 10-10-2010
Perhaps a little TOO accurate?

I love StewMac's acrylic routing templates. They make routing an absolute breeze. However, make sure you are spot-on with your single-coil routs: the hole you route with this particular template will hardly be bigger than the pickup itself, so if your cavity is off by even a millimeter or two you might run into alignment problems with your pickguard. Test-fit your pickguard and pickups BEFORE you finish your guitar and make sure those holes are in exactly the right spots!

B. Ennis  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 37 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Telecaster®, Tele®, and Esquire® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce