Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Pickguards : Strat Pickguards Single Single Single : Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards

Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards


Read 16 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Authentic Golden Age® sound, with extra bite! With genuine CTS pots, CRL switch, Orange Drop® cap, Switchcraft jack and push-back wire.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2990 White Yes
$199.50

2991 White/black/white Yes
$203.50

2991-B Black/white/black Yes
$203.50

2992 Pearloid/white/black/mint Yes
$219.00


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Spring Cavity Cover



Pickguard Screws for Fender



Conductive Shielding Paint



Tremolo Spring Mounting Claw



Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups



Spring Cavity Cover
Pickguard Screws for Fender
Conductive Shielding Paint
Tremolo Spring Mounting Claw
Golden Age Alnico 5 Single-coil Pickups



Details
 Pictures
We hand wire these ourselves here in Ohio, for the best upgrade you'll ever make!

Classic Alnico 5 tone and a HOT bridge pickup for plenty of punch.

These prewired guards are loaded with Golden Age single coil pickups, wound to vintage specs with 42 AWG coil wire. Staggered Alnico 5 polepieces deliver authentic tone and the hot bridge pickup adds plenty of punch.

Includes
  • Golden Age single-coil pickup set: neck, middle, and HOT bridge positions
  • 250K-ohm CTS control pots (3)
  • CRL 5-way lever switch
  • Orange Drop® capacitor
  • Knobs (3)
  • Mono Switchcraft output jack
  • .100" thick pickguard with conductive shielding underneath

All this is then hand wired to a shielded pickguard using 22 AWG vintage-style push-back wire. Pickguard mounting screws are available separately.

Position Polarity Ohms
Neck South 6.0K
Middle North 6.0K
Bridge South 7.6K

Single-ply pickguards    
(black and white)
0.080" thick    
(2.03mm)
8 mounting holes
Laminated pickguards     0.100" thick    
(2.54mm)
11 mounting holes


Use our Prewired Tremolo Claw to make it
even easier to wire up your new guitar!


New pickups and new sound, with Golden Age Prewired Pickguards
New pickups and new sound, faster than you can string a guitar!
New pickups and new sound, with Golden Age Prewired Pickguards Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman responds to a tech call emergency: "This guitar sounds bad, and I'm supposed to record with it tomorrow night!"
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
Golden Age Hotwired Pickguards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 16 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 11-30-2013
Golden Age Great Tone

I dropped this pick guard into my Highway One Strat. The installation was fast and easy. This is my workhorse and main gigging Strat. I really like the tone of this set. The alnicos on the Highway One were very edgy and bright. These are more rounded with great vintage tone. The middle position is woody with just enough quack for clean studio type work. I played my guitar for hours and I am satisfied with these pickups. Plus, the pick guard arrived a day early!

Steelkickin  Kurtistown. HI
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-25-2013
Golden Age Hotwired pick guard

I put one of these on my homemade Frankenstrat. It sounds terrific. For those of us who seldom do a job like this, an instruction sheet would be nice.

Mark Shuell  Auburn, Michigan
5 8-29-2013
Incredible tone!

Golden Age pickups made my inexpensive Hamer/ Slammer sound like a 60's Les Paul!

Ken B.  Milwaukee WI
5 8-16-2013
I like it

I am not an experienced guitar player, (I'm actually a keyboard player) so I don't know what a "vintage" strat is supposed to sound like. That said, I thought it was certainly louder, nice quiet controls that feel good, and it seems a bit more "bitey" than it did before. I am only worried that I *think* it sounds better because I *want to believe* it sounds better because of the cash I spent on it! But the solder connections were great, so it certainly seems well built. It fit my MIM strat beautifully. The pearloid looks beautiful! I did not have any problems with the switch or hole alignment as others have pointed out.

Davini  Minnesota Read my reviews (6)
5 7-22-2013
Golden Age Pickups are Golden!

These pickups are awesome. Just like the humbuckers, these pickups take the pepsi challenge with all the other custom shop, seymours, and dimarzios. The pickgaurd is quality, fit perfect in my U.S.A strat. Quality electronics, and beautiful wiring job was done. The cloth wire is a sexy upgrade. The pickups and electronics are better than the stock equipment I got in my U.S.A. strat. Definitely worth the money. Stewmac comes through again I will never second guess them, and will always recommend them to anyone for all guitar upgrades, repair parts, and accessories. This product really is GOLDEN!

Dion Garcia  Surprise, AZ USA Read my reviews (4)
5 11-30-2012
Hot-Rodding my Strat

I bought a used MIM Strat with the idea of hopping it up. One of those steps was the Golden Age Chipguard that came with the Stewart-MacDonald pickups and top shelf wiring, pots and switch. The sound is WAY better, the volume is much greater and I can go from super full tone to heavy distortion with ease now, something Icouldd not do with the stock pickups. I am very impressed!

TomHintz  Concord, NC Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-30-2012
machine gun

premiere fois que j`utilise ce kit bon pickup bonne qualitee des composantes et a tres bien fitter dans son nouveaux body il y a mieux mai il faut y mettre le prix

r.r.guitarz  quebec canada Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-23-2012
Much better than advertised !

Fit was perfect - Looks great - Sounds classic - Easy to install. Squire Strat is transformed!!

G.T.  NC
5 9-03-2012
Fantastic Sound

I purchased a Fender Squire Strat at Goodwill for $25. I installed the black on black, Golden Age prewired pickguard, and wow did that little Strat come to life! Sounds like a guitar costing hundreds and has a great vintage vibe. Thanks Stew Mac for a great product.

J Bo Nash  Selinsgrove, PA Read my reviews (2)
2 5-04-2012
Prewired Golden Age Pickguards

The next day service was great, The techs did call me after I left a message. The Golden Age Pickups are Incredible and really sound great. Thanks Stumac for all your help to get this guitar out. Terry

Bodager  Rowland Heights, Calif.
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce