Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Pickguards : Archtop fingerrest : Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments

Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments


Read 17 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Beautiful handmade solid acrylic tortoise for making an elevated guitar or mandolin pickguard.

See details below

Email a friend
Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1700 .080-.090" (2.03-2.29mm) thick Yes
$20.95
3 or more $18.74  

1701 .120-.130" (3.05-3.30mm) thick Yes
$28.60
3 or more $25.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Mounting Bracket for Mandolin Pickguard



Pickguard Bracket for Gibson Les Paul



Binding Laminator



Benedetto Archtop Guitar Fingerrest



Mounting Bracket for Mandolin Pickguard
Pickguard Bracket for Gibson® Les Paul®
Binding Laminator
Benedetto Archtop Guitar Fingerrest



Details
 Pictures
The pattern is swirled throughout the gloss-surface material, not printed on a layer like many other pickguards, producing a handsome dark traditional color depth. Made of acrylic, with better stiffness and resistance to warping than celluloid when suspended over a carved-top guitar or mandolin.

Available in 6-11/16" x 11-13/16" (170mm x 300mm) sheets. Add your own edge bindings for a traditional finished look.

Note: This is a solid non-laminated material; translucency will vary with the darkness of the instrument body. Because this tortoise is handmade, individual thicknesses may vary slightly.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments
Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 17 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 17 < 1  2
5 8-22-2012
Beautiful Material!

Dear Readers,
This tortoise pickguard material is outstanding!
The colour is more on the brown side than on red and the swirls are a delicious amber with a huge 3D depth.
This is the loveliest looking tortoise material I've ever worked with for making archtop pickguards. I had no trouble in the machining or laminating processes. The edges retained a nice crispness. The material was absolutely flat, no warping or cupping and it fused beautifully with the binding plastic when I cemented it on.
This was a custom guard that I made for a Gibson Custom Shop AL-355 to replace the original pickguard that was signed by Alex Lifeson.
The binding material is all from Stewmac as well.
Regards,
Freddy Gabrsek
Luthier

Freddy Gabrsek  Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-03-2012
Pickguard

Beautiful pickguard material... and fast shipping! Ordered it one week ago, got it today in Spain! Thanks!

Jorge  Spain Read my reviews (9)
5 12-29-2011
Very nice stuff

I used this to make a pickguard for a "The Loar" VS-600. The blanks I received were not very transparent but the effect was good. I beveled the edge with the StewMac beveling bit and there was no chipping. When gluing the neck block, i got some CA on the top of the pickguard. It is resistant to acetone so the day was saved. The customer is happy, therefore I'm happy.

Rue Morgue Guitar Repair  Weston, MA
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-21-2011
Vintage Tortoise

Great vibe for a quality vintage feel. Nice to work with. Planning where to use it next! Looked good on the mid 40s Gibson archtop.

dtd  california Read my reviews (4)
5 11-23-2011
Nice stuff for many vintage guitars

I bought one Tortoise Pickguard Material for the Les Paul Junior DC style guitar I'm building, great repro material. I try a layer of real copper under the semi transparent material, the result is awesome, I used StewMac copper shielding tape.

Jean GODBOUT  Quebec, Canada
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-04-2011
Nice

Looks great and machines well; no chipping. Edges routed easily(at slow arbor speed) without melting or burning, even the round-over was perfect and required only a light polish. My only concern is that this stuff is so clear and beautiful that normal pick abrasion will stand out like a thunder-clap.

Eric  Milford,NH Read my reviews (6)
5 6-17-2011
good for business

product was exactly what described. It worked well, and easy to maintain. The L-5 was back to its original look.

Reid  Texas Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 17 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 37 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce