Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Vises : Nut and Saddle Vise

Nut and Saddle Vise


Read 55 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A better way to hold nuts and saddles for easier, faster shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut and Saddle Vise

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1816 Nut and Saddle Vise Yes
$35.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bleached White Bone Nuts



Understring Radius Gauges



Bleached White Bone Saddles



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts
Understring Radius Gauges
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Sure, most of us already have a shop vise. And for a long time, you've probably used yours to hold nuts and saddles for filing and shaping. But you've also noticed that your vise jaws get in the way when you're trying to file the top of that nut or saddle, so you're constantly repositioning the work in the jaws.

We considered the problem and designed a special vise that gives you the clearance you need for an easier and more efficient job.

The custom jaws are extra tall, with steep angles for easier access to your work. The end of the vise is beveled for extra relief, too. The 2"-wide steel jaws are hardened for durability and specially undercut to stay parallel under pressure, holding the nut or saddle uniformly without slippage.

For other jobs, the jaws open to 2-7/16", making it versatile for gripping all kinds of small work. This is a well-made, heavy little portable steel vise with a 2" x 5-5/8" footprint; you can clamp it to the edge of your workbench, or into your larger shop vise.

The Nut and Saddle Vise is included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 55 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 8-28-2013
Great for nuts and saddles

Well built little vise. Perfect for holding onto nuts and saddles for shaping and sanding.

All-Strings Instrument Service  IL Read my reviews (8)
5 8-25-2013
Very Useful little tool

Had this for some time now and it has been an excellent addition to the tool box. It is invaluable in the making of nuts as it allows one to cut and file bone far more accurately then on a conventional vice. I've also used it to cut and shape saddles and shape fret inlays. Build quality is fine and up to the job, comes apart easily for cleaning and lubrication. I would recommend this vice to anyone.

StevieB  Essex, England Read my reviews (5)
3 7-10-2013
Good tool

The vise works as described. The only problem I had was with the fit and finish of the the jaws. They did not align properly. They were about 1/16" off. I contacted Stewmac with this and a few other small issues. They did offer to take it back and look for one with a closer tolerance. I decided I would just file the jaws even. The one in the picture on the website looks very well fitted lol mine is very poorly done it works but will not win any beauty contests for sure. That said I have been using it and like it for its function.

Timothy Charron  Hudson, NH
5 6-05-2013
Great Vise

I was reluctant to get this vise. Buying tools is always a big decision and I don't need another tool that I use rarely or one that does NOT perform as advertised. I expect my tools to earn their keep. I suddenly found myself swamped with nut jobs and that pushed me to make the decision to buy this little gem. Wow! What a time saver! I found I could rough in all the nuts quickly, mark the string spacing and get each slot started then install the nut and quickly get the nut to depth for each string. Now I wish I had bought this little vise a lot sooner, This tool definitely has earned it's keep.

Ross  Indiana Read my reviews (4)
5 5-16-2013
Great value

If you make your own nuts, this is a wise investment. The right tool means less frustration and better results. Great value for the increased control over "budget" mini vises. I also use it to hold TOM bridges, pot prep, etc. Even my 13 yr old son is starting to practice nut making. You know a tool is good when it stays on your bench and not in your box.

KScott  Chandler, AZ Read my reviews (5)
5 4-08-2013
Very useful for nuts and more

It works a lot better than trying to mount such small item onto a wooden block and using a belt sander (which of course creates a lot of opportunity for mistakes). This vise is also good for other things, like when a screw is too long and you need to cut it in half with a hacksaw.

Tai Fu  Taiwan Read my reviews (20)
4 3-20-2013
Good quality

Basic tool that should be on every luthiers bench

Fleer  Imperial, Mo. Read my reviews (29)
5 2-22-2013
Great Vise works very well :D

This vise has a special place in my shop and I use it mostly to make compensated saddles, Thanks StewMac

Dan's Woodshop  Bolivia Read my reviews (3)
5 1-20-2013
Get one! Heck, get two!

I cannot imagine working on a saddle or nut without one of these. It's absolutely perfect for the job. Be VERY careful if you put one of these in the jaws of another vise too keep it from moving around like it's prone to do. Too much pressure will deform this vise.

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
5 12-08-2012
Not just for nuts and saddles...

Great vise for many applications in the repair shop.

Fsoheili  NYC Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 20 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce