Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Unbleached Bone Nuts

Unbleached Bone Nuts


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6000-V  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$4.22
12 or more $3.41  
24 or more $2.90  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6001-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6002-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6010-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$5.96
12 or more $4.77  
24 or more $4.05  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6011-V  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6012-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6020-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$6.75
12 or more $5.40  
24 or more $4.58  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6022-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; angled bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6023-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 >
5 1-11-2011
Bad to the bone

Great first project for a DIY luthier. Local shops wanted $100 just to cut a nut. Everybody has to make money, but wow! Know your limits. Make a plan. Take your time. Crack open a beer and start cutting. Polishes like a jewel too!

justified blues  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-07-2011
unbleached bone

These unbleached blanks are really nice!

Dave Paetow  Minnesota, USA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-28-2010
What you're looking for.

If you're looking for a Bone nut that is easy to carve, good tonality and enhance your instrument esthetically, you found it.

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
5 12-19-2010
Only stuff I'll use for nuts

Easy to carve, tone lasts for days. Most astonishing point is the fact that the fulcrum tremelo on my strat stays in tune better than the locking nut floyd rose ("Licensed") on my Dean ML. Vintage bone is the way to go and the blanks from Stew-Mac are now on 7 of my 8 (obviously not the Dean) guitars and basses.

txsmtlhd  Fairfield, ct Read my reviews (2)
5 12-15-2010
Best bone ever!

For years I worked with a collection of rough cut, bleached bone I inherited from a repair shop I renovated. When that stash ran out, I ordered these Vintage Bone Nuts. Night and day! These are beautifully clean and clear, even-textured, dense and quite "musical" (giving off an appealing "ping" when dropped). A pleasure to cut and shape, and beautiful to the eye.

Douglas Baldwin, Coyote Music  Sound Beach NY
5 11-14-2010
great material

I purchased the vintage bone nuts from stewmac. because I fill they have the finest there is for looks & for tone. They make my guitar, & others that I have put them on, sound their best. Thanks for a great product.

Bill's repair  Madisonville,TN. Read my reviews (8)
5 11-07-2010
Vintage bone nuts / saddles

Excellent quality. My last customer oooohed when I showed him what I intended to put on his guitar. He really oooohed when I gave him the finished instrument saying it looks like ivory. A week later I asked him how it played electrically. He said he hadn't been able to put it down long enough to plug in. Great product.

Guy Robinson  Anderson, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 10-20-2010
Delighted

The vintage bone nuts and saddles add a very classy refinement to the looks of any guitar and are of top quality.

Bob M  UK
5 10-20-2010
Vintage bone is the best!

These vintage bone nut blanks are easy to shape, have nice density for good energy transfer and have the perfect color. They polish to a fantastic luster.

Buckaroo Banzai  Perkasie, PA
5 10-12-2010
can't go wrong

Great quality. Consistent. Well machined. Most customers prefer the unbleached "vintage" color, but its nice to have the bleached around too. Stock up...everybody wants one.

Ricky Hendrix  Russellville Arkansas Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce