Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Unbleached Bone Nuts

Unbleached Bone Nuts


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6000-V  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$4.22
12 or more $3.41  
24 or more $2.90  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6001-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6002-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6010-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$5.96
12 or more $4.77  
24 or more $4.05  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6011-V  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6012-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6020-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$6.75
12 or more $5.40  
24 or more $4.58  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6022-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; angled bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6023-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 >
5 2-23-2011
Nuts!

These have a nice deep color that looks great. Great consistent quality.

B Patrick  Conway, AR Read my reviews (4)
4 2-23-2011
Replaced the nut on a 73 Mustang Bass

Easy to file, fit and shape. The only test left is durability. Looking forward to meeting the test!

Tom Holman  Lonoke AR Read my reviews (3)
5 2-21-2011
My personal favorite

My personal favorite nut material.

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
5 2-18-2011
Wow!

I will be using these for all my builds. Everything is so much louder and clearer. There seems to be a bell like quality that envelopes every note. They polish like glass too.

jLam Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (3)
4 2-09-2011
Bone nuts

Worked fine for me on a Tenor Banjo. I've used both bone and mother of pearl. They seem to work up about the same to me.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
5 2-06-2011
vintage bone nut

I always use vintage bone nuts as they are harder and much more beautiful when polished than bleached bone(colors are always different). They are more prone to chipping but vintage bone dust and superglue mix fills in nicely and non detectable to the naked eye. They do have soft spots sometimes but I don't mind, as they are the very best sounding and looking material. Period! Ty M.

62es335  tennessee Read my reviews (2)
5 2-05-2011
Vintage Bone Nut Material

Unexpectedly? I think not, once again our friends at Stew- Mac have developed a product for repair shops saving time which we know = $$$.
The vintage bone material for saddles and nuts meets the "Low Void" test. My wife is a doctor and allowed her frankenstienian husband to use the x-ray machine to explore the cow bone for voids and found it hardy and solid, not like the fossilized ivory. However, not all instruments call for that. Great job fellas!
Shooz

Shooz  Atlanta GA USA
5 2-04-2011
vintage bone nuts

great stuff, shipped fast, very easy to work with, dimensions are very exact

john bange  Seattle, Wa. Read my reviews (12)
5 2-02-2011
Reliable Quality

Stew Mac nut blanks are consistently top quality. The increase in tonal range over plastic is easy to hear. And, the vintage bone looks good too.

DJ1441JD  Verona, PA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-02-2011
Time saver!

The quality of the bone nuts are very good and the pre-cut shapes save me a lot of time installing a new nut. They polish up well to give a nice vintage look.

Gtr-Tek  Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce