Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Unbleached Bone Nuts

Unbleached Bone Nuts


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6000-V  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$4.22
12 or more $3.41  
24 or more $2.90  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6001-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6002-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6010-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$5.96
12 or more $4.77  
24 or more $4.05  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6011-V  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6012-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6020-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$6.75
12 or more $5.40  
24 or more $4.58  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6022-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; angled bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6023-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  10 >
5 7-09-2011
Bone Nuts

Like the unbleached color - good nut blanks.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
5 6-30-2011
Vintage nut

I made a new nut for my telecaster using the bone blank 10". The new nut such a positive impact on the sound of the guitar I will replace several more on my Gibson and Fender style guitars. This is a very simple thing to do using the Stew Mac nut files.

SeanV  Manchester, NH Read my reviews (3)
5 6-16-2011
Bone Nut

Although I did not cut the nut myself, I was very impressed with the quality of the blank! The tech that installed the nut was curious as to where I bought it. I have purchased compensated bone saddles from StewMac and this continues my experience with high quality materials.

Scott C.  San Francisco, Ca.
5 6-09-2011
Bone vibration

After a little training(& some misfits) I am now able to shape and slot brand new bone nuts for any guitar (with appropriate Stewmac tools). As a lefty it's a great bonus!
Don't be shy & try tham for your favourite axe...

Ritchie 29  FRANCE Read my reviews (3)
5 6-07-2011
Good nut material

More consistent than other bone I've used.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-29-2011
Vintage Bone Nuts

Impressive quality and a very fast service to UK

Mersea  England Read my reviews (4)
5 5-01-2011
Vintage Bone

Excellent, I have used these on all of my guitars

hagar  US Read my reviews (2)
5 3-13-2011
Excellent

Exactly as they describe is how it arrives.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
5 3-06-2011
Great Bone Nut

I've used these nuts on 3, 4, and 6 stringers and they've worked great on all of them. Warm tone. Great sustain, especially on larger diameter strings. Easy to work with and carve.

George Yeager Guitars  Boynton Beach, FL Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-24-2011
Abounding Sound

Good product consistent quality and they transfer sound better than anything else on my 1917 L1 Gibson

Larry Inman  DeSoto KS Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce