Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Unbleached Bone Nuts

Unbleached Bone Nuts


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6000-V  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$4.22
12 or more $3.41  
24 or more $2.90  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6001-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6002-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6010-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$5.96
12 or more $4.77  
24 or more $4.05  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6011-V  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6012-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6020-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$6.75
12 or more $5.40  
24 or more $4.58  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6022-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; angled bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6023-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 >
5 10-12-2011
vintage bone

Its good stuff.The white looking bison bone i noticed was a bit brighter,but the vintage bone yields more volume overall,attributed to its denseness and abundance of fat in it,i guess its fat because i ground some down and had dropplets of moister on it.

grey  Tennessee Read my reviews (2)
5 10-02-2011
Looks right. Works right.

Just right for a straight bone replacement. New bone os just too white.

f5mando  USA Read my reviews (6)
5 10-01-2011
Bone nuts and saddles

Its simple if you want tone get bone!

sherman stockton  indiana Read my reviews (19)
5 9-28-2011
Gibson-style nut

Perfect for a vintage look!

Nissan Hayun  Israel Read my reviews (22)
5 9-27-2011
Perfect fitment

After trimming and slotting, the strat is better than new.

carlton wilkinson  victoria, tx Read my reviews (27)
5 9-25-2011
Vintage Bone Nut and Saddles

The vintage bone nut and saddle from StewMac gave my old prewar a great look and the material is hard but easily shaped without chipping.

Nutfiler  Dieppe, NB Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 9-02-2011
Bone Nut

This bone nut is perfect

gods_only_ua  Texas Read my reviews (4)
5 8-28-2011
A GREAT START

I regularly use these as replacement nuts. The blanks have plenty of "meat" for exact sizing and the pre-shaped are so close that they are often perfect fits-maybe a whisker of width extra, leaving only total height to be done in the final stages of slotting.

J. E. Mike Tobey  Davenport, Iowa Read my reviews (8)
5 8-26-2011
The Business

Easy to work. No sticking. Polish up beautifully and rock solid. Nice colour too.

JohnL  UK Read my reviews (10)
5 8-23-2011
Yes, bone for tone

Bone does indeed give better response than plastic etc. These nuts (and saddles) are of very high quality, hard and homogeneous, but still easy to work with.

Bj√∂rn N  Sweden Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce