Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Unbleached Bone Nuts

Unbleached Bone Nuts


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6000-V  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$4.22
12 or more $3.41  
24 or more $2.90  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6001-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6002-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6010-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$5.96
12 or more $4.77  
24 or more $4.05  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6011-V  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6012-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6020-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$6.75
12 or more $5.40  
24 or more $4.58  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6022-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; angled bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6023-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  10 >
5 3-14-2012
My favorite stuff

It's a *little* harder to work than the bleached bone in my experience, but I love the way it polishes up. I also love the way it sounds, and I never seem to have binding issues with it, though I don't know if that's because of the material or just that I'm getting better at cutting them.

Demac  Seward, NE Read my reviews (6)
5 3-08-2012
unbleached bone nuts

I love working with un bleached bone. Not only does it sound better than other materials, but i love the look of it too. The problem is that from nut to nut there can be a massive range in colour. The bone nuts i received from StewMac were very consistant!!

john romeo  sydney
5 2-14-2012
Great Bone!

Easy to work with, give good results!

Hugo  Canada Read my reviews (11)
5 1-24-2012
i love those bone nut

first of all this bone material sound great and always my first choice at the shop for most cases.
those nuts looks great to.
they have got this vintage appear which is very nice, as well with patience you can make them really shine :-)

Yair guitars  ISRAEL , HAIFA , Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-12-2012
Bone Nut Blanks

I've done a grand total of two nuts now. Both were with StewMac unbleached blanks, one a Fender, and one a Martin.

I don't have any complaints about the blanks, but I can't really compare them to any other material because I haven't used any other materials. I can say this: bone dust stinks. It stinks so bad I've developed a way to use my Dremel tool outdoors to shave the blank down close to its final size. Only then do I use the files on it. This saves a lot of stink!

Both guitars I put new nuts on sound much better now than with the old cheap plastic nuts. Good sustain, good tone. I will soon replace the first nut I did on my Strat because I placed the two E strings too close to the edge of the fingerboard.

I would recommend these blanks to anyone who wants to carve their own nuts. It's quite tedious, sometimes smelly, but the sense of accomplishment when it's done and done right is worth the effort.

tfsails  Richmond, VA USA Read my reviews (2)
5 1-04-2012
Great

Worked out great. Perfect color and shaped just enough to require some of your own shaping/filing to personalize it.

Windau  Atlanta Read my reviews (3)
5 12-28-2011
very good

It is what it sais. A piece of bone...

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
5 11-28-2011
Great vintage look

I'm trying to get a very trashed 1938 home-built archtop guitar restored to playable condition. The original Nut was a very crude chunk of ebony.
This replacement Looks great.

Now I've got to get the rest of it done.

Jerry U.  Sacramento, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 11-26-2011
Harmony H22 Bass Gets Bone for a rich Golden Tone

My Grandpa's 1964 H22, which is mine now, had a serious failing nut. So i was going to replace it with a Plastic nut like the one that was on it but decided to try a bone nut first. Glad I did... with the Golden Foil Pick-up and that bone nut there isn't enough "O's in Smooooth to describe the sound. If you want that tone you have to go Bone!!!

Adrian  Joplin, MO Read my reviews (2)
5 11-21-2011
Bone means tone!

Vintage bone nuts are THE answer to faded tone or lack of brilliance in your instrument. Once you get rid of the factory plastic, or even the soft Macarta nuts, bone means tone! What a difference a nut makes!

Paulemersun  Wisconsin Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce