Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Unbleached Bone Nuts

Unbleached Bone Nuts


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6000-V  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$4.22
12 or more $3.41  
24 or more $2.90  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6001-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6002-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6010-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$5.96
12 or more $4.77  
24 or more $4.05  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6011-V  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6012-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6020-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$6.75
12 or more $5.40  
24 or more $4.58  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6022-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; angled bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6023-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  10 >
5 6-23-2012
vintage bone

These look great, sound great, and our customers love em.

Acoustic Corner  Black Mountain NC Read my reviews (2)
5 6-12-2012
Sweet bones!

So far the best nut material I've used. Nut making can be a great fun, if you have the right material & tools. Less chips than with bleached bone, looks great and the sound advantage is immense. Please, stock camel bone for real purists and there's nothing to dream of:)

dmerkuloff  Kyiv, Ukraine Read my reviews (3)
4 6-01-2012
Good hunk of bone

As raw materials go, this is a great piece to work with. Mine was not quite as true on all edges as I would have liked, but that was probably just me being picky. A little light sanding on a flat surface and it was ready to go.

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
5 5-23-2012
Bone Nuts

I can't keep these in stock,I'll have to save up and buy a dozen.

Steven K  Columbia, Maryland Read my reviews (20)
5 5-05-2012
Unbleached Bone Nut

Best quality. Accurate measurements and ample material. Great color, feels organic like the wood.

Chapi  Michigan Read my reviews (3)
5 4-21-2012
Excellent Quality

These bone nuts are some of the best I have seen or used. The color is perfect and very much natural looking. They look great on those vintage Les Pauls and other guitars with the vintage colored binding. The density is what's noticeable if you do alot of custom nut replacements. I have used many other bone nuts from other suppliers and their bone seems to chip and get small splits and cracks in them when filing and fitting the strings into the slots. Not so with the StewMac natural bone nuts. Also, these nuts polish up really easy and quickly. Don't forget to get the nut vice. It makes woking with these a breeze!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
5 4-11-2012
New nut on my 1980 Ovation Legend

The quality of this bone nut was excellent and the color was just what I was looking for, vintage. My son installed and did the final shaping, and it made a noticeable difference to the playability and the overall tone of the guitar. I love this guitar and this bone nut made a great guitar better. Thanks!

AC Vincent  Twillingate, Canada
5 4-05-2012
Unbleached,shaped nut for Gibson guitars

I recently purched these shaped nuts to put in a modern Gibson Les Paul classic RI and to my surprise they were shaped so all I had to do was trim the exact width cut the slots and polish. The height and profile was perfect. What a time saver. They would be great for the do it yourself person who wants to attempt this process.

Tom @ Grose guitar repair  royal palm bch. Florida
5 4-02-2012
nice nuts II

nuts are a nice upgrade for tone

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
5 3-31-2012
Unbleached Bone Nuts

Very good strengh and density. Some larger sizes would be nice for your stock supply. I always put bone nuts on the guitars I work on and some of them are very old and had very tall plastic nuts on them. Larger bone nuts would be nice.

zzaustin  Buffalo
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce