Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Unbleached Bone Nuts

Unbleached Bone Nuts


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6000-V  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$4.22
12 or more $3.41  
24 or more $2.90  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6001-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6002-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6010-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$5.96
12 or more $4.77  
24 or more $4.05  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6011-V  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6012-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6020-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$6.75
12 or more $5.40  
24 or more $4.58  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6022-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; angled bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6023-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 >
5 2-22-2013
Unbleached Bone Nuts

Always a nice consistant piece of bone. Looks great when polished up and is the best way to upgrade a less expensive instrument.

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
5 2-17-2013
Great vintage look with great tone.

Early 70,s SG-II project. Original nut was shot. The unbleached bone nut from Stewart MacDonald was the perfect replacement that gave me the look I wanted.

Roger T.  Hanover pk, Il.
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-20-2013
Excelent

I have two strats that are almost identical. While I realize that there is a ton of mysticism and mojo present in the appreciations of even the slightest changes or mods we recommend or perform.....I am going to say this: I put one of these in one of the strats. I thought it sounded fuller, warmer than the non modded one....regardless of the fact that once you fret a note it takes the nut out of the equation. I told myself it has to be the power of suggestion. Then my daughter ducked in (she also plays) and asked what I was doing differently. I said "Nothing, why?" She said, I dunno, just sounds sweeter." She doesn’t comment often, and that’s the first time I’ve heard that.

Duke  Pittsburgh, PA.
5 10-27-2012
the real stuff

plastic is just an ugly joke compared to this one

robertmaster  Hungary, EU Read my reviews (7)
5 10-24-2012
Excellent

Easy to finish. Great tone. Thanks

jloud  Kentucky, USA Read my reviews (3)
5 10-18-2012
Shaped Unbleached Bone Nut

Shipping was fast and the nut fit with very little final shaping.

Keith Upton  Louisiana Read my reviews (3)
5 9-29-2012
Bone Tone

The bull breathes no more his heavy sound lives when strings sing in his presence

Beauchene  MA
5 9-13-2012
Unbleached Bone Nut and Saddle

I have installed Stewmac unbleached bone nuts in two of my acoustics that I have owned over the years, paired with an unbleached saddle it is remarkable how the sound come alive with boosted bass and clear extended highs. I would recommend to anyone who has a plastic nut and saddle to immediately replace them with unbleached bone for a better acoustic experience.
Thanks Stewmac for all of your support and great service that you have given me over the years.

JMandoblues  Ladera Ranch, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 8-17-2012
The best bone for nuts!

I needed these for my Tele-assembly project. Can't do this stuff without my Stew-Mac tools and parts.

Jay Scott  West Chester, PA Read my reviews (4)
5 6-29-2012
Bone for tone...

What else can I say but Bone for Tone? Better than plastic!

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce