Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Unbleached Bone Nuts

Unbleached Bone Nuts


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise slot filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6000-V  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$4.22
12 or more $3.41  
24 or more $2.90  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6001-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6002-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(43.26mm x 4.75mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$9.48
12 or more $8.06  
24 or more $6.85  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6010-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$5.96
12 or more $4.77  
24 or more $4.05  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6011-V  Shaped
1-5/8" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(41.28mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6012-V  Shaped
1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.26mm x 8.33mm x 4.76mm)
12" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$11.95
12 or more $10.15  
24 or more $8.63  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Nuts  6020-V  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$6.75
12 or more $5.40  
24 or more $4.58  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6022-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 9.53mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; angled bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  

Unbleached Bone Nuts  6023-V  Shaped
1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.04mm x 8.33mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.2mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$12.25
12 or more $10.42  
24 or more $8.85  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Blank nuts have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Preshaped nuts will save you a LOT of work — a head start for the novice builder, and a bonus for the busy repair shop where time is money! The dimensions have been carefully researched, and minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are all that's needed to fit most popular guitars.

The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone!
What's the best material for making a guitar's nut, and why?
The best nut-making material: Bone for Tone! Read more

In this issue:
Customers ask, "What material makes the best string nut?" Erick Coleman's says it's Bone for Tone.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Nuts
Unbleached Bone Nuts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 >
4 8-01-2013
1953 ES-140 nut replacement

I replaced the shrunken plastic nut on a friend's Gibson ES-140 to correct the action and improve the tone. The only work involved, other than filing each string slot, was trimming the ends flush with the sides of the fret-board. The whole job took about two hours.

Bonneur  South Bend, IN Read my reviews (6)
5 6-10-2013
Looks good

I have yet to shape the blank, but the appearance is good. Slightly oversized in the width from a 1/8" nut, which is perfect for my custom build. Some slight chipping on the corners... either from the initial cutting or shipping. But these will fall far outside the usable material anyways, so no complaints from me.

Andrew H.  South Carolina, USA Read my reviews (44)
5 5-16-2013
Bone nut blanks

Good quality product to have your shop, nuff said!

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
5 5-12-2013
Nice!

Very nice piece of bone with a vintage color

Johnny Banjo  Michigan Read my reviews (13)
5 5-06-2013
Consistent Density

I have never found a soft spot or different density in the unbleached bone nuts from StewMac. Great quality and I appreciate that StewMac offers a discount on quantity purchases of these blanks. Thanks StewMac

justinarts  West Texas, USA Read my reviews (35)
5 4-06-2013
Dog can have his bone back!

Used to make my own out of dog bones, I liked it but the dog didn't. This is a lot easier as I don't have to scour the yard wondering where they were buried. As always, good products at fair prices and lightning fast shipping.

Ron Brown  Rapid City, South Dakota Read my reviews (19)
5 4-03-2013
Perfect for the job!

Needed a blank so I could fashion a non-standard dimension nut for an off-brand guitar. Blank arrived quickly and was of uniform density and color. Can't ask for more than that!

Patterson  Fremont, MI Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-29-2013
Great

Easy to work with. Works well on dulcimers and mandolins

FountainCity  Columbus, GA Read my reviews (5)
5 3-29-2013
Good quality - not my first time using these.

Good quality blanks. Hardness seems well distributed and I've never had one cut too small from the factory. I will continue using these on projects as needed. Exactly what I expect to get every time.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 3-25-2013
Bone Nut Blank

Great quality. Good value.

fullwedge  Cornwall on Hudson, NY Read my reviews (21)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce