Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : TUSQ Nuts

TUSQ Nuts


Read 31 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Man-made ivory from Graph Tech! Available in convenient ready-made shapes and sizes, TUSQ® nuts are preferred by many guitarmakers for rich tone and sustain.

See details below

Email a friend
TUSQ Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
TUSQ Nuts  4750  Slotted
1-3/8" (35.05mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 3/16" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 4.45mm x 3.12mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

TUSQ Nuts  1883  Slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.05mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.07mm x 6.14mm x 3.40mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
TUSQ Nuts  1885  Slotted
1-7/16" (36.20mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 11/32" x 3/16"
(44.07mm x 8.36mm x 4.98mm)
16" (406.40mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Epiphone® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
TUSQ Nuts  1874  Slotted
1-3/8" (34.70mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 3/8" x 1/4"
(43.99mm x 9.19mm x 6.14mm)
14" (355.60mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

TUSQ Saddles



Micarta Nuts



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



TUSQ Saddles
Micarta Nuts
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
TUSQ is an advanced polymer that's formed under high heat and pressure for uniform density. It's designed to transfer string energy more efficiently, to make guitars come alive with enhanced harmonics, volume and sustain. Final trimming required.

"TUSQ nuts and saddles have improved the sustain and clarity of our guitars. We now use them on all models." —Bob Taylor, Taylor Guitars

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
TUSQ Nuts
TUSQ Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 31 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
4 9-28-2011
Not bad! (But not bone)

This is a very good nut material; having tried this for the first time though I must say I prefer bone. Looks better, sounds better - however, this is a very good alternative (especially for somebody who does not have the tools to shape and slot their own nut).

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
1 9-21-2011
Gibson LP Tusq Nut - Avoid Slotted

This nut did not fit a Gibson Les Paul Studio guitar. The nut was too shallow and every string fretted out on the first fret with an open strum. We sent back to get unslotted hoping it can be sized/shaped to fit.

lazvt84  Morgantown, WV
5 6-02-2011
Great improvement in tone!

I knew when I removed the nut from my 80's epi LP custom, and dropped it on the counter then dropped the tusq that there would be an improvement, just wasn't aware how MUCH! The guitar is chimey, sustains forever and is like a whole new guitar. My recommendation if you own an Epi LP, new bridge, new tail and new nut. It's not a Gibson, but darn close!

Jon R  Bham, AL Read my reviews (3)
5 5-01-2011
Very Good Product!

I recommend this brand to all of my customers. I used to use plastic because they were easy to work with and were very cheap, but I realized that TUSQ products are the superior choice!

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-30-2011
Good alternative to bone.

Easier to sand and shape than bone, tonal properties seem similar to bone, although I would say that bone has the edge on Tusq, but overall a very satisfactory product.

d jordan  Willimantic, CT Read my reviews (3)
5 4-23-2011
small but very effective upgrade

It takes some sanding for the MIM but at this price I bought a few so I had a back up (if I messed it up, I was going to a pro with the other nut.) No need, I got it right the first time. The next time I changed my strings I did it again and got it perfect. Not the best way, just my way. Its better to take it to a pro. A bit of sanding and my MIM plays better than ever. I kept the spares to help friends now that I know how! It was worth the time just to learn as much as I did and it is fun if you take your time.

John R  West Chester, PA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
4 4-03-2011
Nice

Easy to work, hard enough to last.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
5 2-02-2011
Easy to make perfect

Tusq is an easy material to work with, and no unpleasant smell like bone. For a beginner I found it easy to file off quickly, yet a gentle sanding will only take off very small amounts. It even polishes up pretty well, though not as shiny as bone. Glued in firmly with plain white glue, just like bone. Tip: don't file the string slots to the final depth until the nut is glued in and the glue is dry.

Utahraptor  Sandy, UT Read my reviews (3)
4 10-20-2010
Not a bad nut.

These are great: sand down to height and drop straight in, which makes them easy for a novice to use and makes them difficult to get wrong. They are also easy to profile to a nice rounded shape, to avoid nasty sharp edges.

G.Devitt  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 7-30-2010
a modest investment that will add sustain to your guitar

this material is wonderful for guitars and bass as the nut is a major component in how strings will interact with the frets and sound. it added more sustain to my inexpensive dean and made it sound better as well. i highly recommend if you want to improve sustain and sound on your instrument.

gear_head  usa Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce