Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut


Read 77 Reviews   |   Write a Review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 

For Fender® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6001-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6004-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6002-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6003-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $12.99  
24 or more $11.23  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6012-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6013-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  


For Martin® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6022-VS  1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6024-VS  1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6023-VS  1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6025-VS  1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Unbleached Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



Unbleached Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It’s easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That’s a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do. Sizing Chart

Choose the right
nut size with this
Sizing Guide.


Does this bone nut fit my guitar?
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? A new trick: the sizing sheet.
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 77 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 77 < 1  ...  6  7  8
5 2-29-2012
A real time saver.(for the cost)

Installed to a Warmoth maple neck with ebony fretboard. No fit work required. Very little file work required on the slots and finshed with the Mitchell's Abrasive cord.

David Winters  The Colony, TX Read my reviews (5)
5 2-27-2012
They definitely do the job!

This takes a lot of work out of the nut making process. Before I found these, I used to go to the slaughter houses in downtown Osaka to find just the right leg bone to make a nut. Now with these nuts, I don't even need to leave my shop to go 'bone hunting' anymore. Keep up the good work.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-26-2012
Great time saver

By the time I get to the nut-making stage, I am ready to be done. It's nice to have a preshaped nut, and adds a professional looking touch.

Beth Mayer  Tucson, AZ Read my reviews (9)
5 2-13-2012
Easy and Simple Nut Replacement

Replaced the corian nut on a Gibson SG with this nut. Very simple to do - sounds better, looks better and stays in tune better than the stock nut. Only needed to shape the outside edges to fit - the way to go with a bone nut if you don't want to spend a lot of time carving and shaping a bone blank.

GR  Atlanta GA
5 2-13-2012
Bone Nut

I'v always liked bone nuts over any other nut and the tone these nuts produce is very pro. I did some hiegth ajustment and that was it. I installed the nut and it helped give me the tone I was exspecting. the slots were perfect.

Billy Jones  Fl.
5 2-09-2012
nice nuts...

nut was as advertised and arrived quickly. will be buying more in the future. get one, they are definately worth it!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
5 2-08-2012
Easy to work with!

As a first-time guitar rebuilder/ college student on a budget, these saved me so much time and money! AWESOME product, fit perfectly, just trim the ends!

KevinH  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 71 – 77 < 1  ...  6  7  8 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce