Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut


Read 77 Reviews   |   Write a Review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 

For Fender® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6001-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6004-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6002-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6003-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $12.99  
24 or more $11.23  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6012-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6013-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  


For Martin® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6022-VS  1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6024-VS  1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6023-VS  1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6025-VS  1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Unbleached Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



Unbleached Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It’s easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That’s a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do. Sizing Chart

Choose the right
nut size with this
Sizing Guide.


Does this bone nut fit my guitar?
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? A new trick: the sizing sheet.
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 77 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8 >
5 4-29-2012
String Nut Replacements

I had broken string nuts on my Gibson SG and Flying V and had been wanting to replace a plastic one on a Epiphone Dot. As a musician I had my reservations but with the slotted bone nuts sized for Gibson I was able to get all three done in no time with no problems. I followed Dan Erlewine's instructions for removal of the existing nut and the replacements fit like a glove. This was a totally painless experience.

sstaewen  San Rafael, CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-19-2012
slotted unbleached bone nut

This item made my '59 spec Telecaster project go so smoothly. The fit in the nut slot was excellent with no excess play and the string spacing was ideal. I cut the slots deeper using gauged files from Stewart-MacDonald to achieve the correct height above the first fret, which I measured with the Stew-Mac nut slotting gauge. The bone was very easy to work with and and after final shaping and polishing looked exactly like a vintage Fender nut. And the tone is amazing. I have several Teles, but none are as lively sounding as the one I installed this nut on. Bone really makes a difference! It is now one of my favorite guitars. I will install one of these nuts on every Strat or Tele I build from now on.

cheebzh22  Camp Hill, PA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-16-2012
Best Available!

I couldn't ask for better sound than I got from these bone nuts. I placed them on the neck with a dab of cement placed the strings on the guitar and used the guitar that night at church.

Ken Landis  Gap, PA Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-15-2012
Time saving!

A slotted nut that just needs the bottom filed down and the sides slightly shaped, worked great for my Norman six string acoustic. Its the same string spacing as a Martin so it worked dandy.

Carl Melissas  Asheville,NC.
5 4-14-2012
Nice Nuts

I got a radiused bottom nut as part of a restoration job on a '65 Fender Jazzmaster. The original was bone, and this is just what the doctor ordered. The slots and height were perfect, I only had to shorten the length a bit. I couldn't have finished this any other way. Thanx, Stew Mac!!!!!

Dave Yanosh  Kingston, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 4-13-2012
Unbleached Pre Cut Bone Nut

I have read many reviews about how replacing a nut with a bone nut greatly improves tuning and tone. I have always shrugged it off, but when I got frustrated with tuning issues with the standard nut that came stock with my Gibson CS336 (Best Guitar I ever played), I installed this nut myself and WOW!!! My Guitar stays in tune perfectly and I have noticed a brighter tighter sound. I am so glad you guys finally made these slotted. I have no experience installing these, but watched a video on Youtube. It was a breeze and there was NO additional filing needed. I use 10s to 52s and they fit great. Thank you Stu Mac!!!

jmollica  Florida
5 4-12-2012
Pre-slotted bone nut

In May 2006 I put together the Stew Mac Dreadnaught Kit. I had adirondack spruce sound board wood and made my own top instead of using the top supplied. It is really devoloping a tremendous sound. I messed up the slotting and will replace the nut with the newly pre-slotted nut at the next string change. I enjoy playing it more than my Martin HD28V.

Les Tomazic  Glendale,az Read my reviews (2)
4 3-21-2012
Slotted nuts

This took a lot of work...Other reviewers would have you think it is just a little sanding...I think the nut should be brought down in the bass E. The slots were cut nicely, but , three weeks later, I am still bringing the action down. I tried to sand down the base...but that has to kept totally straight...The E (treble) is good from the start...so don't bring it any lower...You will have to sand down the top so the strings are buried in the nut.. good luck...

Angel  Billerica, MA
4 3-18-2012
Like

I like this but I musta miss read something IDK it was too big for the application was hoping to save time on this repair but I ended up with bout the same amount of time installing this its nice just need to read what I'm getting

J.A. Smith Guitars  Grand Island, NE USA Read my reviews (4)
5 3-14-2012
Excellent tone

This 6004-VS nut was a great upgrade to the cheap plastic nut that came with the guitar. The guitar is an Xaviere XV-JT90 Offset. The tone, sustain and harmonics have all improved. Well worth the purchase price. I'll try the Gibson style next.

dram56  Colorado
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce