Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut


Read 77 Reviews   |   Write a Review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 

For Fender® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6001-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6004-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6002-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6003-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $12.99  
24 or more $11.23  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6012-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6013-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  


For Martin® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6022-VS  1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6024-VS  1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6023-VS  1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6025-VS  1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Unbleached Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



Unbleached Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It’s easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That’s a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do. Sizing Chart

Choose the right
nut size with this
Sizing Guide.


Does this bone nut fit my guitar?
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? A new trick: the sizing sheet.
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 77 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 >
5 5-27-2012
High quality

I needed a replacement for the original wood nut on this old acoustic. I had to do some filing and made my own files from an automotive feeler gauge by sawing teeth with a dremel. Worked like a charm and this bone nut is great.

Buckone  Baltimore, Ohio Read my reviews (5)
5 5-24-2012
Good Quality

Just what I needed. Just requires final sanding and fitting to your neck, but it's great. Love it.

Nathan K  NC Read my reviews (18)
5 5-17-2012
Muy bueno.

Lo instalé en una Orville LP. Encajó a la perfección.

La medida que usé fue la siguiente:

Shaped Gibson 1-11/16" Bone Nut - Slotted 1.4"

Gabriel  Peru Read my reviews (11)
5 5-17-2012
Time Saver

Well worth the price, good quality material. These pre-cut bone nuts save me a lot of time when I'm doing a set-up and are great, especially when doing those Ibanez Artcore projects!

Tom Sawyer (really!)  Vernon, CT Read my reviews (9)
4 5-13-2012
nice tone...

This bone nut went in very easily, after what I thought was going to be a lot of sanding, it took only a few minutes to sand the back of the nut to roughly what I needed shape-wise, then I used a feeler gauge to adjust the string height to .011 over the first fret. My strat sounds a lot nicer than with the old plastic nut. The tone improved a lot!

Steve Canon  Florida
5 5-09-2012
Just in time!

I've been using bone nut blanks for years. I was dreading making a nut for this latest project because it takes a fair amount of time to get it right. My customer was asking when I might be finished the same day that my latest catalog arrived. On the cover was a picture of a pre-slotted Bone nut!! As usual StewMac to the rescue. Thanks guys, you really are the best>

Charles Sawka  Antigua/Barbuda--West Indies
5 5-09-2012
Super Helpful

I used a Gibson sized, wide string spacing nut for an Explorer I re-did. I'm not a full time luthier, so I work on my stuff in dribs and drabs when I have time. I'm sure, in a pro shop, they guys have nut making down to a science. For a guy like me, who does things in their spare time, with less than professional tools, this is a lifesaver. Originally I bought a Black Tusq nut, simply because I don't have all the tools needed to make a nut from scratch. There is a definite sound difference, especially on the open notes. Took a littel work to get it just right for my application, but I'm sure much less time than if I had to make it from scratch. A great idea, a great product. Thanks Stewmac!

MUYFUE  San Antonio TX Read my reviews (17)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-05-2012
Slotted Bone Nut (Amazing Difference)

I changed my chinese guitars nut from plastic to Bone. What a difference on the Acoustic. Wow, What a difference sound expensive now. I bought 4 and did all my guitars. The les paul has way more sustain. on all 4 guitars nothing needed to be done at all. No sanding at all! The Bridge saddle of bone was lots of sanding but it was worth it as it sounds like a $3000 guitar now for less than $500. Special thanks to Mike at StewMac for his amazing Human resources work at fixing MY mistake for free! God bless ya'll at StewMac!

Frank's Dad  Toronto, Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 5-05-2012
Good quality upgrade

Strong, good quality replacement and upgrade for my Gibson Melody Maker and Gibson Faded Flying V. The bright white stock "corrian" nut was taken out of both instruments and replaced with this item. I needed to lightly sand off the ends so that the nut was flush with the sides of the neck.

I should mention these items are also tough. I dropped one of them onto a concrete floor and didn't see any sign of cracking or breaking. The pre-cut slots are VERY handy too.

Destroyer of Warranties  Houston, TX Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-02-2012
Ahhh The smell of sanded bone

Bright, good sustain. When properly cut, no hang up at the nut! Wear a mask if using a belt or disk sander to trim it down.

Scott B  Vestal, NY, USA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce