Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut


Read 77 Reviews   |   Write a Review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 

For Fender® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6001-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6004-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6002-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6003-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $12.99  
24 or more $11.23  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6012-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6013-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  


For Martin® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6022-VS  1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6024-VS  1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6023-VS  1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6025-VS  1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Unbleached Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



Unbleached Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It’s easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That’s a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do. Sizing Chart

Choose the right
nut size with this
Sizing Guide.


Does this bone nut fit my guitar?
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? A new trick: the sizing sheet.
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 77 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  8 >
4 8-01-2012
Saved time but...

This pre-slotted nut is great if you don't want to invest in a set of gauged nut slotting files, but with all the filing and sanding to get this nut to fit perfectly, I could have made my own.

Blake Brauer  Chicago, IL Read my reviews (3)
5 7-26-2012
Pre-cut slotted bone nut

Being pre-shaped and slotted, these nuts save a lot of time, especially if you don't have a lot of experience shaping string nuts. After installation, I noticed a fairly moderate increase in open string sustain, better harmonic content, and the proverbial "lifting of the veil", with an increase of brightness and clarity, and of course improved tone. It is not a night and day type difference, but a definite solid step to improved tone. Awesome service. STEWMAC ROCKS!

JAL  Lomita, Ca Read my reviews (2)
5 7-17-2012
First time nut replacement a breeze!

Preslotted bone nut made me an instant pro. Plastic nut tapped right out and bone nut only needed minimal filing. It's perfect! Of course the SM files, nut slotting gauge (only way to go) and string lifter (must have) that came in the box is the rest of the story. The sizing guide got me to finally pull the trigger and place the order. I almost measured and studied the chart to death. My Xavier Casino copy is now a jewel. The 52 Hot Rod Tele is next.
hbgb

hbgb  New Braunfels,Texas Read my reviews (6)
3 7-17-2012
If your left handed, go with the shaped, slot yourself.

I managed to get the nut to work on a 2011 mim telecaster. It wasn't a hit the ground running experience like the righties get. Great quality nut. It fit in the slot like a champ. Thankfully it is really high, which allowed me to file the slot angles the other way. I think next time I will order the shaped version and slot myself. Three stars because they were slotted directional and no left hand option.

Heagan  Fort Worth, TX
1 7-06-2012
TOO low

I recently purchased 2 of these for my 2011 USA Les Paul..Both of them measure about .338" in overall heigth..The original corian is .350" All of the strings fret out on the first fret and I havent touched them as far fitting..These are already to low for my LP..Has anyone else had this problem?? The heigth needs to be higher.

jerry wallace  artesia, nm Read my reviews (3)
3 7-05-2012
takes some fiddlin'

Bought one for my Epi LP Standard. It wasn't plug and play. Had to fiddle around with sandpaper and various tools for five or six hours til I got the action just right. Patience is key. Thanks Stew-Mac!

Axeman Cometh  Aurora, CO
5 6-18-2012
Excellent tools

Fit perfectly, double edge files made touch up simple along with string lifter.

Sidney  Mesa, AZ Read my reviews (2)
5 6-11-2012
Slotted Bone Nut

Excellent product, very accurate dimensions easy to trim to size and get a profesional looking job

Rob Phelps  Australia
4 6-01-2012
Very nice

Clean and well made. For direct replacements, you can't get much better than this.

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
5 5-31-2012
Great Bone Nut !

This slotted nut saved me a lot of time. I only had to file it slightly to fit my Martin and I'm very pleased with the results

MJK  Kingston, NH
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce