Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut


Read 77 Reviews   |   Write a Review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 

For Fender® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6001-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6004-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6002-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6003-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $12.99  
24 or more $11.23  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6012-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6013-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  


For Martin® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6022-VS  1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6024-VS  1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6023-VS  1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6025-VS  1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Unbleached Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



Unbleached Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It’s easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That’s a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do. Sizing Chart

Choose the right
nut size with this
Sizing Guide.


Does this bone nut fit my guitar?
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? A new trick: the sizing sheet.
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 77 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  8 >
5 1-04-2013
Slotted unbleached bone nut

Outstanding! Measurements per specs, well finished, only required minimal finishing to fit. The slots are cut perfectly and required no modifications.

David Saliba  Wytheville Virginia Read my reviews (8)
5 12-27-2012
Great Fit

Great fit. Very little filing needed on edges to fit my project. No filing needed for the string slots.

IBstrummin  Frederick, CO Read my reviews (2)
5 12-09-2012
Perfect!

Great!

Herberth  Bahia, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
5 12-08-2012
Like a charm!

Just replaced my first nut on an Epi Hummingbird I picked up. A little narrow for the slot, otherwise perfect. A little filing - now I have correct string height - no more buzzing at the first fret.

Gunner3160  Ogden UT Read my reviews (3)
5 12-02-2012
Clearer Highs

Improved the upper end on my 16 yr. old HD-28. Together with a bone saddle gave me a much more balanced guitar. Made an already great sounding guitar even better -and at a relatively low cost!

Normhart  Guam Read my reviews (5)
5 11-18-2012
Unbleached Bone Nut for Martin Guitars

This was an amazing purchase for restoring my 40 yr old guitar. I had to do some minor fine tuning and it was ready for install. The added sustain, volume, and bite are amazing. The look is amazing as well. A great deal.

Ben H.  Barstow, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 8-22-2012
Easy install. Major improvement.

It was a snap to replace the worn plastic nut on my Strat. The old part was loosened with a mild tap using a punch and hammer. The new bone nut was a perfect fit. The trusty Fender now plays better than ever.

StacyB  Lexington, KY
5 8-16-2012
A really time saver

I've recently received the slotted bone nut for Gibson style and it's really good quality. For this price there's no reason to build one by myself. I'm not going to do better, and the unbleached bone gives a nice vintage look!!!

Ramon Miquel  Barcelona, Spain
5 8-16-2012
love it

lovely. one of the best i've come across

ianianianianian  london Read my reviews (4)
5 8-02-2012
Right price - works nice.

Got one of these for my JR. All I had to do was lay some wet/dry paper on my marble desktop and sand the bottom to get the angle & height right. Works like a charm and improved the overall tone and tuning. Forget fancy plastics - bone!

Moose  Richmond, VA
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce