Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut


Read 77 Reviews   |   Write a Review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 

For Fender® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6001-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6004-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6002-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6003-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $12.99  
24 or more $11.23  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6012-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6013-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  


For Martin® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6022-VS  1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6024-VS  1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6023-VS  1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6025-VS  1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Unbleached Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



Unbleached Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It’s easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That’s a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do. Sizing Chart

Choose the right
nut size with this
Sizing Guide.


Does this bone nut fit my guitar?
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? A new trick: the sizing sheet.
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 77 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  8 >
4 4-21-2013
Bone nut

Had to modify the slots for my Firebird.

RickM  Frederick, MD Read my reviews (23)
1 4-17-2013
Too low slots

I did 2 LP's and the high stgs were very low on the first (LP Traditional), and the whole thing was too low (all stgs) for an LP Custom - not usable at all. (Yet the Graph Tech slotted fit) So..it's not the time saver as advertised, at least for me, and I 'fortunately' bought 5 of them. I'll not order these again, maybe I'll try the the 'shaped' but not slotted for Gibsons. As the over all height was good just the slots weren't.

Joes Guitar  Edmonton Read my reviews (2)
3 4-17-2013
Good quality breaks easily

Good quality breaks easily

Gil Solomon  Israel Read my reviews (11)
5 4-14-2013
Great Bone

Quality was spot on. Great for the clients that will settle for nothing less than bone. You wont be disappointed.

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
5 4-08-2013
Fantastic upgrade for Gibson guitars

I've switched out several of the stock nuts on Gibson Les Pauls using these pre-slotted bone nuts. They are a near-perfect fit, and the slots are great for the string gauge I use. I usually just file down the bottom to get the right height, and then round off the edges for a more finished look. Well worth the money. The tone of the guitar improves noticeably, notes seem to ring more clearly.

Dave Dobson  Holmen WI Read my reviews (4)
3 3-18-2013
Too short

Unfortunately, I was unable to use this because it was not tall enough for my guitar. It is a quality piece though and I would recommend.

ScottyB61LP  Indianapolis, IN Read my reviews (7)
5 2-23-2013
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

Stewart MacDonald Slotted Unbleached Bone Nuts make replacement of existing worn out nuts as easy as it can be.

ThomasHouck  Oakton, Virginia, USA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-03-2013
Easier than I thought.

I'd always used synthetic nuts to upgrade my guitars, as they were most readily available pre-slotted. I was so pleased to find these available slotted as well. I found the bone very easy to work with and the results were excellent.

Peter D  Raleigh, NC
5 1-21-2013
Excellent product!

While playing a recent outdoor gig, my '61 reissue Gibson SG was blown over due to high winds. This resulted in the nut being partially crushed as the guitar fell on it's face on concrete (luckily the only damage). I left the guitar w/ a local Gibson authorized service center to be repaired. $75 later I was left w/ a nut that was rough and shaped incorrectly with slots that were not only too deep, but cut crooked. I removed that nut last night and in ~2 hrs had this new fitted. I feel better about the guitar now knowing that it will stay in tune as well as being pleasing to the eye.

blackcloud45  Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-19-2013
Unbleached = great vintage vibe look!

I wont even get into the quality of a bone nut, I assume if you're shopping at Stew Mac you already know about the sound qualities of bone. But, in addition to all that, I was pleasantly surprised with how nicely "aged" the Stew Mac unbleached bone looked. I used it on a 20 year old HD-28 and it instantly added to what's becoming a vintage vibe on that guitar.

Schembre  Anaheim Hills, CA Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce