Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut


Read 77 Reviews   |   Write a Review

“Starting with one of these slotted nuts saves me about an hour per job. And they're unbleached bone, my favorite for tone.”
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

See details below

Email a friend
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 

For Fender® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6001-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6004-VS  1-45/64" x 15/64" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.99mm x 3.18mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6002-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top and bottom radii
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $13.04  
24 or more $11.11  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6003-VS  1-45/64" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(43.48mm x 5.79mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$14.98
12 or more $12.99  
24 or more $11.23  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6012-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-13/32" (35.56mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6013-VS  1-45/64" x 21/64" x 3/16"
(43.48mm x 8.59mm x 4.80mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
1-21/64" (33.65mm) string spread
Yes
$15.45
12 or more $13.65  
24 or more $12.00  


For Martin® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6022-VS  1-13/16" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6024-VS  1-23/32" x 13/32" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 10.29mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6023-VS  1-13/16" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(46.02mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-17/32" (38.86mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  

Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut  6025-VS  1-23/32" x 21/64" x 1/4"
(43.49mm x 8.59mm x 6.35mm)
18" (457.20mm) top radius
1-15/32" (37.21mm) string spread
Yes
$15.55
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $12.04  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Unbleached Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Guitar Grease



Unbleached Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Guitar Grease



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
You already know bone nuts sound better than plastic. Good news: our vintage-look unbleached bone nuts are now available pre-slotted! It’s easier than ever to install a perfect, super-hard nut. That’s a huge time savings—especially in professional repair shops.

The slots are proportionally-spaced, using the same method as our String Spacing Rule. This means the strings feel right all across the neck—no crowding on the heavier bass strings.

These beautifully shaped nuts are StewMac exclusives, with research and design by our repair experts. Final fitting is all you'll need to do. Sizing Chart

Choose the right
nut size with this
Sizing Guide.


Does this bone nut fit my guitar?
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? A new trick: the sizing sheet.
Does this bone nut fit my guitar? Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a question that's come up a lot lately: how to find the right size replacement nut. He introduces a new Sizing Sheet that makes measuring easy for anybody.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 77 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  8 >
5 8-29-2013
What a time saver!

I decided to do a job for free for a young kid, a prodigy, who has a very nice 80's Heritage series Les Paul. The plastic, yes, plastic nut that came stock had cracked and I told him I'd do a nut replacement and a set up for him. WOW, the nut was perfect, it fit with a few swipes on the sanding paper, right in the slot. The slots were exactly the same as the originals, making it a breeze to cut down the slots and top. It took a fifth of the time it would have if I had started with a blank. I highly recommend this for anyone who really needs to shave time off their job. The unbleached bone looked so beautiful in the slot when done. It polished up like a mirror as well. Great product.

Barry Evan Russ  Atlanta GA Read my reviews (2)
5 8-24-2013
*****

This is simply the best material for tone. Stew-Mac cuts them great every time, I've always been impressed with the craftsmanship. I would suggest that they have more options such as Epiphone style nuts, and more radii to choose from on Fender style. I will be unable to get one for my MIM Strat.

justinheronmusic  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
5 8-22-2013
ES333 nut replacement

Recently replaced the nut on a nice ES333 that someone had hacked on in attempt to lower the action. Used the Stew Mac pre slotted vintage/unbleached bone nut. It almost perfectly matched the aged binding...and took very little trimming/filing and looks great with the natural finish of the guitar. Have previously bought bone blanks to use but will probably buy the pre slotted nuts from now on.

mr fixit  Hawaii Read my reviews (3)
5 7-26-2013
Great!

I got two - one for my.EL -00 and one for my Ultra 339; both Epis. The EL-00 opened right up, I felt a bit of a volume boost, and it sounds great with the nickel strings. It didn't exactly fit the 339, but works well. They both look wonderful, and match the vintage look of the rest of the guitars well. Shipping was fast - almost TOO fast! It's almost as if they ship it to you before you place your order!!!! JK. Great job, Stewmac!

Davini  Minnesota Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
4 6-30-2013
More Meat

They could use a little more meat on the bottom.Easy to shape and lower

Pete Farmer Guitar Works  Grand Haven, Mi Read my reviews (5)
5 6-27-2013
Exactly what I needed!

I have a 2012 Gibson SG standard (in Antique White) and I have never been happy with the corian nut- it doesn't look right, it doesn't tune right and I suspected it could sound better. PLUS the 1-13/32" string spacing made the E string WAY TOO CLOSE to the binding! The 1-21/64" spaced unbleached bone nut fixes ALL of these issues. It sounds great, it looks great, the spacing is a massive improvement and I immediately noticed a difference in tuning it up.

Delilah  San Francisco Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-21-2013
Slotted Bone Nut

Slotted unbleached bone nut worked fabulous! I busted the nut on my Fender Strat, and checked all the options before buying this one. It was a hair too wide, and about a 16th too tall, but simply cut to size using fine grit sandpaper. I was afraid I might need to open the slots, since I am using GHS 10.5 - 48 strings, but the strings fit just fine. Nice tone - no string buzz - and even while using the whammy bar, it stays in tune. (I use graphite in the slots for lube) I think I will replace the nuts on my other Strats with bone as well. Couldn't be happier!

Blues Guitar  WA
5 6-14-2013
Good fit and good spacing.

Has good spacing.. Took a bit of sanding and fitting to the nut slot.. Will buy again for sure...

T Jones  Chester, MT Read my reviews (39)
5 5-24-2013
Timesaver

Excellent product. Bone sounds great, final fitting is a breeze..

Burgundy Mist  Oslo, Norway Read my reviews (3)
5 5-12-2013
Slotted Unbleached Bone Nut

loved it!

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce