Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Micarta Nuts

Micarta Nuts


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Softer than bone, and files easily. Micarta is an excellent synthetic bone substitute.

See details below

Email a friend
Micarta Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Micarta Nuts  0187  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$2.65
12 or more $2.21  
24 or more $1.87  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Micarta Nuts  0218  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$3.67
12 or more $3.05  
24 or more $2.59  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Micarta Nuts  0210  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$4.45
12 or more $3.74  
24 or more $3.18  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micarta Saddle



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Micarta Saddle
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Specified by Martin for nuts and saddles since the 1960s. Ivory in color and a bit softer than bone, it files and sands easily and gives a uniform tone.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micarta Nuts
Micarta Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
4 3-11-2012
a matter of preference...

I gave these a try but I found them too soft and with a tendency to bind the strings. It was an experiment worth trying but this material seems better suited for acoustic guitars than vibrato equipped shredding machines.

Francis Voignier  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (14)
4 2-22-2012
Micarta nuts

They work more easily than bone as advertised but the appearance is dull and not very attractive IMO. I tried one just to see, but will be going back to bone nuts in future.

Mike Parks  Maryland
5 2-01-2012
Micarta Nut

Excellent quality...good price.

MR. ED  OKLAHOMA Read my reviews (3)
4 11-22-2011
Nut Sizes

These nuts are great... but they are not ideal for us Ukulele builders. We waste much of the material. What we really need is a nut that is 1.5 X 0.25 X 0.375 inches.

ChrisG  Winnipeg, MB Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 11-18-2011
Excellent

Excellent

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
5 10-30-2011
Good Stuff

Easy to work with and looks great!

AtticHouse  New Jesey Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
3 10-17-2011
Get Bone

I tried making a nut of this material, because of the oversized nut slot, which didn't hold bone blanks well, and this micarta blank fitted fine. I must say, i'm confused by all those five stars reviews.

What i noticed from my expirience. This material is SOFT. Which resulted in dull sound of open plain strings. It's also tough, so it doesn't sand or cut well, compared to bone. I'm not gonna use it anymore, waste of time.

Konstantin  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-01-2011
Micarta Nuts

picked these up for some nylon string basses I'm making and they work GREAT. The first went on a 41.5 scale slap bass and it's easy to shape and resonates well. Perfect for my purpose. A+++

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
5 8-10-2011
nice material

Hard but easy to shape and cut, slots finish nicely and are slippery. The color matches well with both rosewood and maple boards. I used to like graphtech nuts but I found a new favorite.

joeyl  El Paso TX Read my reviews (2)
5 1-30-2011
Micarta Nuts

I bought Micarta nuts since I read good reviews on it at Stewmac. I used it for the first time on a quite cheap bass of Jazz model, and could immediately experience much better sound even listening to the acoustic sound without pluging in to an amplifier. I will keep on using these for coming repairs and recommend them to my customers. Easy to shape and slot.

maronima  Karlstad, Sweden
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce