Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Micarta Nuts

Micarta Nuts


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Softer than bone, and files easily. Micarta is an excellent synthetic bone substitute.

See details below

Email a friend
Micarta Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Micarta Nuts  0187  Blank
1-7/8" x 9/32" x 1/8"
(47.63mm x 7.14mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$2.65
12 or more $2.21  
24 or more $1.87  


For Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Micarta Nuts  0218  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 3/16"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 4.76mm)
Yes
$3.67
12 or more $3.05  
24 or more $2.59  


For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Micarta Nuts  0210  Blank
2-3/16" x 7/16" x 1/4"
(55.56mm x 11.11mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$4.45
12 or more $3.74  
24 or more $3.18  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micarta Saddle



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Micarta Saddle
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Specified by Martin for nuts and saddles since the 1960s. Ivory in color and a bit softer than bone, it files and sands easily and gives a uniform tone.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micarta Nuts
Micarta Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
4 9-17-2013
Good Nut

I bought this to replace a broken nut on an old Silvertone for a friend. Definitely easier to work with than bone. Much better tone than the plastic one it replaced. My friend could not believe the tonal difference.

SRW  Burleson, TX Read my reviews (8)
4 6-14-2013
Great for practice making nuts but...

Works good for practice making nuts is why I got a few blanks but not the great for actually using as a nut.. Doesn't sound as good as bone or the newer tusq thats for sure...

T Jones  Chester, MT Read my reviews (39)
2 4-24-2013
Hmmmmmmmmm.

I know some people rave about this stuff, but I couldn't get on with it at all. Normally for rough shaping a nut I hit it with a belt sander. This stuff just melts and it clogs up nut files on the first stroke. Back to bone for me.

srb-guitars  France Read my reviews (4)
5 2-26-2013
Great Tone...

...And very easy to work with. Micarta files, sands and polishes better than bone. It also has a nice vintage-look, unlike bright-white bone. I have a recent-production Fender neck that shipped with this nut material, so I thought I'd try it on one of my projects. I'm sold and have reordered more, for other projects, since.

GZ  Media, PA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-17-2013
This is the stuff for New Gibsons

This is the same stuff Gibson has been using for about the past 15- 20 years. So, great for Gibson service work.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
5 5-07-2012
Good quality blank nut

Nice material, fairly easy to work with.

jeffreyz75  Warminster,pa Read my reviews (6)
5 4-02-2012
First time "nut maker"

This was my first nut ever - put it on a pre-made neck from Golden Gate (Strat-style neck). You are definitely given enough material - almost too much in my case. Be prepared to file and sand for several hours to get the desired shape/size. I had to re-do my slot spacing as the guide I was following must have been for a child (way to tight for me, and I dont have huge fingers). Anyway, it was fun, and I look forward to playing my hand-made guitar very soon!

Zig  Martinsburg, WV Read my reviews (14)
3 3-29-2012
Not bad, not bad.....

These work for basic pickin.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
4 3-29-2012
Great Nut

This Nut Was Great For An Old Time Banjo I Repaired It IS Cheap And It Sounds Good

strat1  Hamilton, OH Read my reviews (4)
5 3-18-2012
Great material

I am restoring several old Silvertone Guitars and converting them to left handed setup so there were no commercially available nuts that were right. I had never made a nut before so I bought 3 of these. The first nut I made didn't turn out well but I learned what I did wrong. The next 2 nuts I made turned out great, sound great, and really look good on these vintage guitars. I will definitely be buying more in the future.

JHW  Lexington, KY Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce