Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Black TUSQ XL Nuts

Black TUSQ XL Nuts


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Self-lubricating nuts from Graph Tech are ideal for string bending and tremolo work. Now in more sizes!

See details below

Email a friend
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1865  Black, unslotted
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.17mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1866  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-11/16" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(42.93mm x 5.33mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1884  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1868  Black, unslotted
1-29/32" x 3/8" x 3/16"
(48.39mm x 9.52mm x 4.88mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1869  Black, slotted
1-7/16" (36.20mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 11/32" x 3/16"
(44.07mm x 8.36mm x 4.98mm)
16" (406.40mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Epiphone® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1873  Black, slotted
1-3/8" (34.54mm) string spread
1-23/32" x 11/32" x 1/4"
(43.84mm x 8.89mm x 6.10mm)
15" (381.00mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

TUSQ XL Nuts



String Saver Classic Saddles



String Saver Saddles



String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles



String Spacing Rule



TUSQ XL Nuts
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Saddles
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles
String Spacing Rule



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Extra slippery: TUSQ XL® is impregnated with Teflon® (500% more slippery than graphite). During tremolo bends, the strings slide in the slots, returning to accurate pitch.

Dense and resonant: Pressure-formed TUSQ transfers string energy more efficiently, without dead spots found in natural materials. Guitars come alive with enhanced harmonics, volume and sustain.

Pre-shaped: Slotted or unslotted, they require only minor trimming.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
4 3-21-2013
Nice nut

the material is good, I recommend

Carlos GirĂ³n  Ny Read my reviews (28)
5 3-18-2013
Good investment

I've used TUSQ XL nuts twice. First time I've simply wanted to solve the problem with tuning stability on a hardtail superstrat. I came to the idea of self-lubricated nut several attemts with replacing the string trees and different lubes. The lubes are great, but they will work no longer as the lube wears off or gets oxidized. The problem was in the cheap synthetic bone nut. After getting a short experience with polycarbonate low-friction nut, which tone I didn't like at all, I thought about derlin nut or something like that. I'm glad with the choice of the TUSQ XL nut, because it's working quite well for few years without serious complaints. What about the tone? TUSQ is quite better in tonal characteristics than lots of man-made bone nuts, it's incredible better than cheap plastic nuts you can find on asian-made guitars, but it's a bit less responsive and harmonicaly-rich then bone nuts. Think like comparison of good solid-state and tube amps. But! If you're playing more heavy rock and you're picking hard, your vibrato and string-bending are strong, the TUSQ will work a bit better for you. If you're playing low to medium gain, and you have nice rig, that can emphasize well the harmonic richness of your axe - go bone nut. For me TUSQ XL works perfectly in my electrics, but I prefer bone nut for acoustic guitars. Anyway, it's a truly great investment, especially if you want to solve problems with tuning stability.

A. Mantush  Minsk, Belarus Read my reviews (3)
4 3-09-2013
TUSQ XL Nuts

Very nice replacement nut...listed as interchangeable with Epi nuts; slightly wider, however. Very easy to sand and adjust...

CraigK  Las Vegas, Nv Read my reviews (2)
5 2-08-2013
Good, high quality.

This is a great high quality nut. I put one of the black Gibson slotted nuts (item 1869) on my Dean Razorback as part of a full overhaul I was doing on it myself, and it fit perfectly. The string spacing was dead on, and VERY easy to work with. All I had to do to it was shave the sides a very small amount to be flush with the neck, but otherwise, it fit perfectly. I was amazed at the improvement of the sound quality and tuning improvements afterwords.

Michael C.  Asbury Park, NJ Read my reviews (6)
5 1-15-2013
love these nuts

the strings slide through the slots with no resistance. i do a lot of string bending and this nut really helps keep me in tune. very easy to work with too(filing and shaping).

mdewey30  Clarksville, TN Read my reviews (4)
4 12-30-2012
Great product. Wish it came slotted for bass too.

I like Tusq. It's my favorite nut material on basses when brass is not preferred. I get the 44.45mm unslotted ones. To slot it and shape it is a cinch. I wish Stewmac carried also the pre slotted ones for 4 and 5 strings bass though. One can never be lazy enough ;)

maurizio caduto 
5 10-06-2012
Almost Effortless

I've used these on three guitars now, a LP Studio and two Teles,I'm loathe to use anything else now unless it is for a vintage, period correct material instrument. Only require minor sanding for perfect action and installation. The tone is at least equal, and IMO better than bone.

Coolpooler  Cold Lake, AB Read my reviews (6)
5 8-30-2012
Great product

I ordered about 3 of these in the past year or so and every one of them was a perfect fit both in the depth of the string slots and the width of the nut itself.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
5 6-14-2012
Bought 6 TUSQ nuts

As expected, very good.

Rudy V  Belgium
5 6-12-2012
Keeps my Mexican Strat in tune

Installed in minutes and helps keep my Mexicaster in tune. Super!

Mr. Dabee  Richmond, VA, USA
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce