Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Black TUSQ XL Nuts

Black TUSQ XL Nuts


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Self-lubricating nuts from Graph Tech are ideal for string bending and tremolo work. Now in more sizes!

See details below

Email a friend
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1865  Black, unslotted
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.17mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1866  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-11/16" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(42.93mm x 5.33mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1884  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1868  Black, unslotted
1-29/32" x 3/8" x 3/16"
(48.39mm x 9.52mm x 4.88mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1869  Black, slotted
1-7/16" (36.20mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 11/32" x 3/16"
(44.07mm x 8.36mm x 4.98mm)
16" (406.40mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Epiphone® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1873  Black, slotted
1-3/8" (34.54mm) string spread
1-23/32" x 11/32" x 1/4"
(43.84mm x 8.89mm x 6.10mm)
15" (381.00mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

TUSQ XL Nuts



String Saver Classic Saddles



String Saver Saddles



String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles



String Spacing Rule



TUSQ XL Nuts
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Saddles
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles
String Spacing Rule



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Extra slippery: TUSQ XL® is impregnated with Teflon® (500% more slippery than graphite). During tremolo bends, the strings slide in the slots, returning to accurate pitch.

Dense and resonant: Pressure-formed TUSQ transfers string energy more efficiently, without dead spots found in natural materials. Guitars come alive with enhanced harmonics, volume and sustain.

Pre-shaped: Slotted or unslotted, they require only minor trimming.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 4-01-2014
Great time-saver

I put one of these into an after-market mighty-mite neck with a flat nut-slot that I used to replace the neck in my 1995 Fender Deluxe Roadhouse strat. The pre-slotted nut saves a great deal of time and eliminates the margin of error for lay-out of the slots. One caveat is that one must have proper-gauged nut files to do a clean, pro job of deepening the slots, as the whole nut is sized a bit "proud" and the slots are shallow to allow custom fitting. You still have to take your time and measure frequently...making a nut properly is one of the most difficult tasks because it doesn't take much to go too far and spoil the part...this made it a whole lot quicker and easier.

YoungTurq  Oregon coast Read my reviews (6)
5 2-14-2014
Nice Nuts

This stuff makes for a pretty good nut at a reasonable price. I've used it before and will use again.

tstell  Rockwell City, Iowa Read my reviews (10)
5 1-05-2014
PERFECT FIT, EASY INSTALLATION

Ordered one for my Gibson SG to replace the one I over-filed and made buzz. Perfect fit, and I think the black one fits the dark mahogany color of the body much better than the stock white one. Minor sanding to fit and a touch of TiteBond and I was rocking in minutes. Just make sure you order the width for your neck and you'll be good to go.

TomPF  Lake Elsinore, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 12-28-2013
Best Nut Ever!

With locking tuners, these nuts provide great tuning stability and smooth trem action. Just as good as a locking nut IMO. I use 10 gauge strings and the pre-slotted nuts are slotted a little narrow on the skinny unwound strings(G,B,E), which can effect the tuning stability a little. But this is solved by simply passing a wound D string back and fourth through the slots about 10 or 15 times. this will open up the slots just a tiny amount and it never needs to be done again. Takes about 60 seconds, but improves the performance exponentially. This may not be an issue for everyone, depending on string gauge and subtle variances in manufacturing, but if it is, just take a minute and fix it with an old D string, and the nut will perform excellently. No special files or lubes are needed.

ErikFerrara  Boston MA
5 10-04-2013
Love them nuts

I've purchased 2 of these over the past several months to upgrade Import guitars. They do require some sanding to get the height proper, but other than that no hassle. Slots were perfect both times. Easiest way to improve a guitar ...

RockinRonnie  Ontario Read my reviews (5)
4 8-15-2013
Great nut

Works very well, looks great. No issues!

rich.chaffins  Morgantown, WV Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
4 5-23-2013
Okay now

Fits Epiphone Les Paul LS100 with no sanding. However slots cut tiny bit low so I put in a thin piece of vinyl as a shim to raise it higher. Anyways it sounds good so far and keeps in tune and perhaps increases sustain.

Progbusters  SF Bay Area Read my reviews (5)
4 5-17-2013
Nice

The idea that you can buy a nut thats slotted and just drop it in and play is wrong so dont let these mislead you. They do require fitting and slotting. Ive found to get the 'slippery' factor to actually work you need to polish the slots a lot. They have a matte finish so if you want a polished nut youll need to go through the process. Its easy to work with and doesnt stink like bone. The only ones Ive noticed that have added good tonal qualities are the larger ones. Fender style are just too small it seems for the TUSQ material to enhance the tone. Mostly I prefer bone or sometimes Corian but if you get the slots on a TUSQ XL nut slippery smooth on a guitar with a traditional tremolo, it does help with tuning stability.

PNC Guitars  Washinton USA Read my reviews (26)
4 4-05-2013
Yes! It makes a difference!

Put it on my Epi ES175 and it improved resonance and tuning. I still had to do a fair amount of trimming to get it to fit even though it was supposed to be precut. Overall, a great improvement.

aczfenderstrats  Milwaukee, WI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-31-2013
Tusq XL Nut

I had to replace a nut on a Yamaha 335 knock-off that I ruined trying to file the string channels. The original nut was too high (as are the frets) and I was getting terrible out-of-tune notes at first position chords. I decided to try and make life easier with a pre-slotted nut and one with some slippery properties. I needed some advice from the knowledgeable Stew-Mac staff regarding best choice and they came through in the usual speedy and friendly way. Removal and prep was easy since I had last version of Dan's Guitar Repair book and I followed the suggested course. The nut I chose was just a tad short in height for the Yamaha so I shimmed it. I sanded the glue spots and patiently kept installing it (unglued), playing it and adjusting the bridge until it felt right. I chose to file the nut ends and round the edges slightly before gluing and it went in without problem. The nut channels didn't need filing and after adjusting the bridge a bit, it plays like a dream. It was a lot easier to do than I thought and I saved a pile of money. I really took my time and measured and filed carefully and in the end, it paid off. For the money, these replacement nuts are great.

Pegzhead  Burlington, Ontario Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce