Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : String Lifter

String Lifter


Read 50 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Speeds nut slotting jobs! This simple little tool will save you a lot of time when you're filing a nut slot.

See details below

Email a friend
String Lifter
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4803 String Lifter Yes
$4.79
3 or more $4.25  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spreaders



Nut Slotting Gauge



Feeler Gauges



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spreaders
Nut Slotting Gauge
Feeler Gauges
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Just slip it under the string in front of the nut, and quickly lever the string up and out of your way. There's no need to loosen the string, and you can quickly reseat it to check the slot depth frequently as you work, without tedious retunings.

The String Lifter fits any string up to .062". Our thanks to luthier Rolfe Gerhardt for this clever idea.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Lifter
String Lifter
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 50 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
3 11-09-2011
String Lifter

It lifts the string like it says it does but what I didn't realize is you must hold it with your hand. I was hoping it would lift the string out of the way and stay there leaving me both hands to work with. Maybe a flat side so it will stay up and out of the way by itself. I use it every once and a while but it's not a must have for me.

dsteiner  Mechanicsburg, PA Read my reviews (9)
5 10-30-2011
Ingenious

Works like a champ!

chime13  Florida Read my reviews (2)
5 8-30-2011
Wonderful... once I got the hang of it!

I've had this clever little tool in my bench for a long time but never used it after giving it an initial try. The problem is that the photo doesn't match the instructions! The photo shows the tool lifting a string behind the nut, which doesn't work well at all. After reading the positive reviews and noticing the directions indicate using it in front of the nut, I gave it another try. I reduced my nut making time in half by not having to retune strings... no string breakage either. Stewmac really needs to change that photo! Get this tool, it is $5 very well spent.

Dogwood Guitars  Kansas City, MO Read my reviews (26)
StewMac responds

Dogwood Guitars,
Sorry for the confusion, the photo is now fixed to show it properly in use. Thanks for pointing that out!

5 8-23-2011
String lifter

Ha! Go figure....

Never figured I'd love this anywhere near as much as I do.

Holy time saver batman!

If you do tons of guitar work, get this.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 7-06-2011
Great for applying nut lub

I use this great little tool after restring to apply Guitar Grease (3413) under the string to the (non-locking) nut. I use a Drop Fill Stick (3108) to apply it with. Thanks StewMac, Good design.

Trip  Sharpsburg, GA Read my reviews (5)
5 6-04-2011
What's not to like?

It's a very simple little tool that makes an awkward job very easy, and without marring the instrument.

MJ  Chandler, AZ
5 5-15-2011
NICE TOOL TO HAVE AROUND

Make nut adjustment easy

BIGAL  CANADA Read my reviews (6)
5 4-30-2011
Excellent!!

What an excellent tool for set-up jobs and nut making in my shop! Saves so much time and effort when filing nut slots!! Great job on this one guys!!!!!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
5 4-18-2011
Very handy

Great time-saver. To guard against the fretboard "dings" one reviewer noted, I slip a blade of a feeler gauge between this and the fret board, just to be safe, but except on a few exceptionally heavy gauged strings I didn't notice even a potential problem.

Dr H  Earth Read my reviews (10)
5 2-13-2011
String Lifter

Simple little tool that once you have one you can't work without it.

Steven K  Columbia, Maryland Read my reviews (20)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce