Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : String Lifter

String Lifter


Read 51 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Speeds nut slotting jobs! This simple little tool will save you a lot of time when you're filing a nut slot.

See details below

Email a friend
String Lifter
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4803 String Lifter Yes
$4.79
3 or more $4.25  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spreaders



Nut Slotting Gauge



Feeler Gauges



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spreaders
Nut Slotting Gauge
Feeler Gauges
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Just slip it under the string in front of the nut, and quickly lever the string up and out of your way. There's no need to loosen the string, and you can quickly reseat it to check the slot depth frequently as you work, without tedious retunings.

The String Lifter fits any string up to .062". Our thanks to luthier Rolfe Gerhardt for this clever idea.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Lifter
String Lifter
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 51 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 4-18-2014
Brilliant tool...

Ordered this to try it out and now wouldn't be without it! If you need to fill in low nut slots this tool let's you pull the string up whilst still in tune and rest it on an adjacent nut slot while you fill-in to re-cut later, or while you file for a lower/cleaner slot. Saves me lots of wasted time, what a great little tool. I keep mine with my set of SM Nutfiles so I never lose it. Recommended for all setups/repairs.

Chris Cutmore, Essex Guitar Services  England Read my reviews (9)
4 3-29-2014
String lifter

This is a handy little tool which I use a lot when I'm cutting nut slots. Needs a little care though as it can mark the fret-board. I like to pull it up by the handle rather than lever it, that way I prevent any scuffing.

JMW  Biggleswade, UK Read my reviews (13)
2 3-16-2014
Bit disappointed

I am a bit disappointed in this item, it would benefit from a "T" bar fitted to the end to provide a bit extra lift.

Hilsley57  UK Read my reviews (6)
5 3-10-2014
Great Tool

Great time saving tools. I will order a couple more.

g hopkins guitars  Old Town, Fl Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-23-2014
String lifters

What a simple yet amazing little tool !

Denny Burns  Hoffman Estates Il. USA Read my reviews (6)
4 9-03-2013
Sure makes it easy to adjust a nut slot!

I had thought of something like this before but could not think of how to fabricate it. Now I have one and it does the job! Like a little string jack!

Fred I  Virginia Read my reviews (5)
2 8-13-2013
Dents the fingerboard

This is a clever, simple, little gadget that solves a problem by doing more harm than good. I just tried it out on my 32-year-old guitar I bought new. Now, there are four new permanent dents in the fingerboard. Until I damaged my guitar with this device, I could proudly claim I had always taken excellent care of my guitar. There is a safe means to use this, which I shall try on something less precious to me first. Slide a steel rule under the string, then press the string lifter against it when lifting the string. The steel rule will distribute the force of the lifter over a large area, so the fingerboard doesn't get dented. Yes, this adds to the complexity of the task, but it's still much faster than unwinding and rewinding the string. I'm giving this product a second star because there is at least a way to work around the dent issue. I'm disappointed in all those who gave five-star rave reviews. I'm sure they pay no attention to all the dents they leave in so many fingerboards.

Nekobasu  South Lake Tahoe, CA, USA Read my reviews (2)
4 6-14-2013
Time saver

This string lifter is quite handy for final nut slot adjustment. So handy, in fact, that it stays in my mobile setup bag.

Greg, Ruby-Ryder Guitars  Mesa, Arizona Read my reviews (6)
5 6-14-2013
Very handy!

I use this little unit many times a day correcting poorly cut nut slots on new and used guitars in a very busy retail store. It's become an invaluable tool on my bench, so much so I just bought a second one as a back up! For the money, buy it and try it. Works for me!

Cain  Western Australia
5 5-28-2013
Time saver and Time is MONEY.

This neat tool easily payed for it self the first day I used it. Very durable, I've used to on dozens of guitars and there is zero wear on it. Why put more wear and tear on strings when you can just lift them off the slot without detuning them? It's really inexpensive, I should have bought this a the first time I saw it on stewmac.

Mack L.  California Read my reviews (18)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce