Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Nut and Saddle Vise

Nut and Saddle Vise


Read 55 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A better way to hold nuts and saddles for easier, faster shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut and Saddle Vise

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1816 Nut and Saddle Vise Yes
$35.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bleached White Bone Nuts



Understring Radius Gauges



Bleached White Bone Saddles



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts
Understring Radius Gauges
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Sure, most of us already have a shop vise. And for a long time, you've probably used yours to hold nuts and saddles for filing and shaping. But you've also noticed that your vise jaws get in the way when you're trying to file the top of that nut or saddle, so you're constantly repositioning the work in the jaws.

We considered the problem and designed a special vise that gives you the clearance you need for an easier and more efficient job.

The custom jaws are extra tall, with steep angles for easier access to your work. The end of the vise is beveled for extra relief, too. The 2"-wide steel jaws are hardened for durability and specially undercut to stay parallel under pressure, holding the nut or saddle uniformly without slippage.

For other jobs, the jaws open to 2-7/16", making it versatile for gripping all kinds of small work. This is a well-made, heavy little portable steel vise with a 2" x 5-5/8" footprint; you can clamp it to the edge of your workbench, or into your larger shop vise.

The Nut and Saddle Vise is included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 55 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
5 5-05-2012
Nut and Saddle Vise

In the past I've found making nuts a real task as I just couldn't angle the files accurately. This tool actually makes the job a pleasure. I wish I'd bought one long ago.

Jim MacBrayne  Scotland
5 4-08-2012
bridge vice

this vice make life easy just clamp down good solid vice

garydavid2011  australia Read my reviews (6)
5 1-20-2012
The absolute perfect vise for small work

I got this vise for doing nuts and saddles.I had to lower an Ibanez string height, it was +.030 over spec. the only inexpensive way that could be done was to lower the saddle. So I measured the distance needed and still have the
proper pitch coming out of the bridge button. I made my guide mark with a .012 nut file then put it in the vise filed away and having those beveled edges made it easy to level my filing. And I was able to get the 12th fret action -.013 lower than spec. and it played fantastic. Thanks Stewmac for the great tools. Ms Ricki Leigh

Ricki Leigh  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
5 12-17-2011
Essential Tools!

If your going to do nut and saddle work why not make your life easy? This is a high quality tool that I use for all manner of tedious work! You're only limited by your imagination!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 11-06-2011
a must for saddle work

Great vise. I had to build base to clamp to table.

Set-up Technician  Solon,Ohio Read my reviews (18)
5 10-26-2011
Versatile

I'm new to this hobby and bought the things I though I would need. As it turns out this little vise has come in handy for many other small chores. I love it!

Mahaf  Rockwall, TX
4 10-02-2011
Unnecessarily Good

Though not a necessary tool for the shop, this vise is convenient to say the least. It works great for shaping and sanding just about anything you can fit in it, not just nuts and saddles. The only thing I wish it had were mounting holes or an easy-to-clamp area so it wouldn't move around so much when filing.

Feral Customs  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (4)
5 6-24-2011
The right size vise.

Everyone has a big vise around the shop, and yes, you can use it with small parts. But this little guy makes changing the part orientation, or rotating the whole vise, easy ways to make short work of small fiddley bits. Essential!

Steve Combs  Littleton, Colorado Read my reviews (6)
5 6-01-2011
Don't know How I made it without it

I work on a lot of small things but never really thought about it much, except when working with blank nuts. This vise is perfect for for cutting and filing nuts, but found so many more useful things to do with it(electronic and mechanical projects). It has very heavy construction so you don't have to worry about damaging it. For light work, I use it by itself, but when filing nuts or heavier work I mount it in my vise. This thing has saved me a bunch of time and made my work easier.

Guyfergy  Westminster, MD
5 5-31-2011
nice tool

perfect, as expected. This is a must have in any luthery workshop

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 20 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce