Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Nut Slotting Gauge

Nut Slotting Gauge


Read 69 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A revolution in guitar setup! Precisely measures string heights, so you can cut accurate nut slots for consistent playability.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut Slotting Gauge

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2003 For guitar and most instruments Yes
$59.94

2006 For bass Yes
$68.47


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set



String Lifter



Double-edge Nut Files



String Action Gauge



String Spacing Rule



Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
String Lifter
Double-edge Nut Files
String Action Gauge
String Spacing Rule



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
This device that will revolutionize the way you set up a guitar.
The Nut Slotting Gauge quickly and precisely measures string heights over the first fret. When filing nut slot depths, you see your results more accurately than ever before. No more guesswork or "eyeballing" the string heights, and no more searching for elusive combinations of feeler gauges. You can custom-tailor the playability with consistent, repeatable results.

At last! A precision tool for establishing string heights!


The Nut Slotting Gauge was designed by Don MacRostie here in our R & D shop. It features an easy to read dial indicator with adjustable zero point, and it's super accurate to .001". The machined brass base fits over the strings to rest on the fingerboard, and it works with most acoustic and electric guitars, mandolins and banjos. A larger brass base is machined to fit bass string spacings. Both have gently arched bottoms to follow most any fretboard radius. Instructions are included.

The Nut Slotting Gauge is included in this money-saving set:
Nut Slotting Gauge and Neck Relief Gauge Set


Putting the new Nut Slotting Gauge to work on a "burn victim" guitar
A new nut on a "burn victim" guitar
Putting the new Nut Slotting Gauge to work on a "burn victim" guitar Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine shows a before and after of a 1958 Gibson that’s (barely) survived a house fire. It needs a new nut, and he’s using the Nut Slotting Gauge to get it right the first time.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 69 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  7 >
5 7-04-2012
Nut Slotting Gauge

J' ai fait les ajustements de la hauteur des cordes de ma black strat avec le Nut Slotting Gauge a 0.18 millième de hauteur et j'ai bien aimer le résultat,une action douce au premier fret sans que que ça fausse et enfin les cordes tous a la même hauteur. Je vous le recommande.

Daniel G. Luthier  Canada, Qébec Read my reviews (9)
5 6-19-2012
Only a Numpty could find it difficult.

What a brilliant piece of kit. Makes setting the clearance over the first fret an absolute doddle. Can also be used to accurately measure the neck relief AND for checking and setting the string heights. An all round versatile tool no budding guitar tech should be without.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
4 6-06-2012
This one works!

I had previously tried the neck relief gauge, and just couldn't get it to work very well. Most of the problem seemed to stem from the mounting base not being flat, so that the reading you would get varied if you did not keep the gauge perpendicular to the fretboard. Well the nut slotting gauge has a nice flat bottom, and using it is a snap. My one concern is that the item does seem darn fragile, so keep it tucked away safe and don't bash it around.

Steve C  Twin Cities, MN Read my reviews (2)
5 5-02-2012
MEASURE - MEASURE - MEASURE

Quit guessing and start measuring. This is the tool to do it.

Merle, NC  Read my reviews (6)
5 4-21-2012
Super Quality Tool!

This is one of the most used tools I have! Don't know how I did without it for as long as I did. You can use this guage on EVERY setup you do. I have made it a habit to atleast check every guitar that goes through the shop with this guage. Almost every time I check one, I end up selling the extra work of lowering the strings at the nut. Most customers are willing to pay the few extra dollars to get a guitar back that plays like butter. It can be used to measure many other things to, but, this guage gets a workout on the setup bench in my shop!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
5 3-29-2012
Multi Tool

Tons of uses if you adapt it to different jobs. Pricey.....kinda why I came up with other uses, lol. Works great! Thanks.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 3-28-2012
No More Feeler Gages!

This is definitely worth the money and makes adjusting your neck setup or fine tuning your nut depths so much easier.It's well made and easy to use.

stratbasher  Maple Hts. Ohio
5 2-18-2012
Time Saver

I use to have to measure string height with feeler guages; a real pain fumbling with them to re-measure for every string. The Nut Slotting Guage is quick and easy to use. A real time saver.
It works so well I bought the Bass Guitar guage also!

Gordon Bellerose  Edmonton AB. Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 2-11-2012
Top Product

This tool reveals a repairer's level of workmanship and if your guitar has buzz it will show him up.
This is a great tool to own whether you're a repairer or not,well done stewmac!!!!!
Greg,
Melbourne.

Greg Mullins  Melbourne,Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 2-06-2012
If you only buy one guitar tool this year...........

If you're wondering whether this works, take it from me ; it does! No more fiddly inaccurate feeler gauges when setting up, this will do nut slotting, setting the relief, setting the action and individual fret height. Admittedly there's a knack to using it but the saving in time and the 1/1000" accuracy more than make up for it. It'll do Basses without the specialised block too!

the guitar fettler  sheffield
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce